Zesty Hominy and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I've made this for years but my recipe is slightly different using 4 cans white hominy, small can green chillies, small can sliced black olives, 1 pt. sour cream. These are mixed in a 14 X 7 pan and topped with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNBill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
We liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I grew up eating something very similar to this - and loved it! Unfortunately, it was my Granmother who made it, and she never wrote anything down! Tried this, followed the recipe exactly - and it's very, very similar to hers. Thanks for posting it! Yum! And the whole family enjoyed it. It is a little on the heavy side - but this was never an "every day" item in our house anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer & Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This is very good but very rich, I probably should have cut the sour cream for us. It is a good way to enjoy hominy, I used the golden hominy. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Far better than plain hominy with butter/salt/pepper, but not such an outstanding side dish that I could rate it a perfect 5 stars. It's very good for, well, hominy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pet Terrier
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
this was really good. very different as a side dish, but everyone really liked it. The sourcream gives it a little tang, the the jalapenos a little zip..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rumba-queen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Nifty hominy recipe. I used light sour cream otherwise I followed the insructions to the letter and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is incredibly easy and so delicious. I will certaily make it again, you are guaranteed not to have any leftovers. By the way, if you've never had hominy before, the texture may throw you off but it really is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I made a huge spread for Thankgiving with a 22 pound turkey and a lot of hungry people. It is the truth that they looked at me like I was nuts when I said, "there's the hominy casserole" and it was the first thing completely gone! I will *definitely* be making this again and again! I Yankees (northerners) and Southerners and everyone like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Not sure if I did something wrong but I followed to recipe and it turned out so bad. I ended up dumping the whole thing out. Very dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States