Zesty Hominy and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
this was good as written, but the next time i made it more to my liking: i used a total of 10oz. green chiles- 6 oz. mild and 4 oz. jalapeno. the first time i used a mexican blend of cheese, but prefer more cheese flavor, so the next time i used half cheddar and half the mexican blend. i drained and rinsed the hominy well. really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by humblevoyager
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I too, grew up eating hominy. I can remember a similar family dish, so I was glad to find this simple and delicious recipe. My only adjustments were to put part of the cheese on top in the last 10 - 15 minutes and I added a little garlic to the mix. We had this with Christmas Lima beans and salad for a wonderful meatless meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by humblevoyager

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was a first at my house and it was a HUGE hit! I added bacon to it and more cheese (we're cheese fans). We will make this again for sure. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Meuret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Quick, Easy,Tasty! Everybody loved it! Great with BBQ gathering. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is one of my most requested dishes. Couldn't be easier and is a unique addition to any meal. I like to serve it with a Mexican dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I read some reviews B4 making this & I'm glad I did b/c I used some of the ideas another viewer had....some adjustments I used: 1 can white, 1 can yellow hominy, added some Velveeta cheese, jalapeno pieces, chopped & sauteed onion, omitted the green chiles & cayeenne pepper , & added other seasonings (dill, chives, salt & pepper) substituted the sour cream for 4oz ...cream cheese & sprinkled it w/shredded cheddar cheese. It was so good the rest of my family that doesn't like hominy ate this & had more! My 19 month old even liked it until she got a bite of the jalapeno & my 11 yr old had 2nds :) I will be making this all the time & sharing it w/others..... THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Willis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe has been in my famiy for years - we usually add 1 chopped onion to the mix to add more flavor. I also reccommend using Manning's Hominy and rinsing it beforehand - it comes out thicker than using something that's been stored in water. White hominy is the best for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was a good recipe. I reduced everything a little, as I only used two cans of hominy -- I did one white and one yellow to make it a bit more visually interesting. The only other small changes I made were to add some garlic powder and used diced jalapenos instead of green chiles. Great side with enchiladas as a nice change from rice or beans! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent! First time for our family to try a hominy dish, and everyone liked it. I used what I had on hand: only one 15-oz. can of hominy, subbed cream cheese for sour cream, added 2 minced fresh jalapenos and some chopped onions (sauteed), and a very generous teaspoon of cumin. Next time, I might try adding some tomatoes. I could live on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was my first time eating hominy and it was delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States