Zesty Hominy and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
this was good as written, but the next time i made it more to my liking: i used a total of 10oz. green chiles- 6 oz. mild and 4 oz. jalapeno. the first time i used a mexican blend of cheese, but prefer more cheese flavor, so the next time i used half cheddar and half the mexican blend. i drained and rinsed the hominy well. really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by humblevoyager
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I too, grew up eating hominy. I can remember a similar family dish, so I was glad to find this simple and delicious recipe. My only adjustments were to put part of the cheese on top in the last 10 - 15 minutes and I added a little garlic to the mix. We had this with Christmas Lima beans and salad for a wonderful meatless meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by humblevoyager

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was a first at my house and it was a HUGE hit! I added bacon to it and more cheese (we're cheese fans). We will make this again for sure. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Meuret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Quick, Easy,Tasty! Everybody loved it! Great with BBQ gathering. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is one of my most requested dishes. Couldn't be easier and is a unique addition to any meal. I like to serve it with a Mexican dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I read some reviews B4 making this & I'm glad I did b/c I used some of the ideas another viewer had....some adjustments I used: 1 can white, 1 can yellow hominy, added some Velveeta cheese, jalapeno pieces, chopped & sauteed onion, omitted the green chiles & cayeenne pepper , & added other seasonings (dill, chives, salt & pepper) substituted the sour cream for 4oz ...cream cheese & sprinkled it w/shredded cheddar cheese. It was so good the rest of my family that doesn't like hominy ate this & had more! My 19 month old even liked it until she got a bite of the jalapeno & my 11 yr old had 2nds :) I will be making this all the time & sharing it w/others..... THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlzfish2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe has been in my famiy for years - we usually add 1 chopped onion to the mix to add more flavor. I also reccommend using Manning's Hominy and rinsing it beforehand - it comes out thicker than using something that's been stored in water. White hominy is the best for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was a good recipe. I reduced everything a little, as I only used two cans of hominy -- I did one white and one yellow to make it a bit more visually interesting. The only other small changes I made were to add some garlic powder and used diced jalapenos instead of green chiles. Great side with enchiladas as a nice change from rice or beans! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Excellent! First time for our family to try a hominy dish, and everyone liked it. I used what I had on hand: only one 15-oz. can of hominy, subbed cream cheese for sour cream, added 2 minced fresh jalapenos and some chopped onions (sauteed), and a very generous teaspoon of cumin. Next time, I might try adding some tomatoes. I could live on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was my first time eating hominy and it was delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States