Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Very good!!! This recipe was simple, fast and tasted amazing. Everyone in the house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is a great recipe because of previous comments I reduced the amount of splenda and oil. My guests can't eat things too spicy so I also reduced the red pepper, but would add more back for just my family. I did not have saffron, but it still turned out great! The only odd thing was that the splenda clumped up, so I heated the mixture in the microwave for 30 sec. and it smoothed it right out. Everyone LOVED the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I've made this 3x's in the last week 3 different ways...(we love it) On chicken legs and thighs with reduced cayenne, 1/2 cup oil and 1/4 c Splenda, [too oily on the BBQ but did get compliments] on boneless skinless breasts with 1/4c oil, 1/4 c Splenda -once with 1/2 tsp cayenne, once with a full tsp. Think 3/4 tsp cayenne may be just right for us...but very spicy is GOOD too!!! Will try someday on boneless skinless thighs too...just not this week! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very Good and easy! used this recipe with 8 breasts. I did not have splenda, so I used brown sugar, Turned out well! Loved it. The chicken was very tender and Juicy!! Will def. make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe and I realize that it's a reduced sugar version of Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken (one of my favorites that I've made a number of times) but when converting 1/2 cup of sugar from the original recipe 1/2 cup of Splenda should be 1/4 cup. I also eliminate the saffron and it doesn't make a difference in the recipe. I pound the chicken down to 1/2 inch, cut the oil down to 3/4 cup, put everything into a ziploc bag and marinate it for a few hours. The chicken gets carmelized due to the sugars, comes out moist and it's definitely zesty as the name states. It's delicious and I usually serve it with Penne from Heaven from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This definitely has flavour! I didn't have granulated Splenda, but used liquid Sugar Twin (but only just under 1/3 cup) and it still had a great sweet flavour. Actually, I might only use 1/4 cup sweetener next time. My husband thought it might have been a Thai recipe as it had that great combination of sweet and spicy. We really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darder81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I'm confused. The receipe says cook time 40 minutes at the top but 20 minutes in the directions. I went with the 20 minutes. It's cooking right now. Here's hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is the best chicken recipe I've had in a long time! I cut back on the oil a bit and only 1/4cup splenda as I find it tastes much sweeter than real sugar. Very easy to make, hard to mess up... my kind of recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Made this tonight for dinner. It was fabulous. It was a nice blend of spicy and sweet. I think people that do not like spicy food might want to reduce the cayenne just a little bit. We loved it as is though! Thanks for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
It's great to find recipes that the kid will like. We made this and my daughter loved it. She's pretty picky too. We also like someone earlier used brown sugar instead of splendid. Pair this with some asparagus and peppers and you have a great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rascus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States