Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe and I realize that it's a reduced sugar version of Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken (one of my favorites that I've made a number of times) but when converting 1/2 cup of sugar from the original recipe 1/2 cup of Splenda should be 1/4 cup. I also eliminate the saffron and it doesn't make a difference in the recipe. I pound the chicken down to 1/2 inch, cut the oil down to 3/4 cup, put everything into a ziploc bag and marinate it for a few hours. The chicken gets carmelized due to the sugars, comes out moist and it's definitely zesty as the name states. It's delicious and I usually serve it with Penne from Heaven from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I substituted the splenda with 1/3 cup of brown sugar, left out the saffron because its more valuable than gold up here in Canada. To counteract the sweetnees of the sugar and honey I added the zest and juice of 1 lime, and a 1/4 cup of orange juice. I also cut the oil in 1/2. It came out amazing, moist and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This had a good flavor. I used about 1/3 c of brown sugar, no saffron and cut back on the oil. I'll cut the oil back even more next time, maybe 2/3 c. Husband liked this easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mn78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is a great recipe because of previous comments I reduced the amount of splenda and oil. My guests can't eat things too spicy so I also reduced the red pepper, but would add more back for just my family. I did not have saffron, but it still turned out great! The only odd thing was that the splenda clumped up, so I heated the mixture in the microwave for 30 sec. and it smoothed it right out. Everyone LOVED the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I did not have Splenda so I used sugar and loved it! Will defiantly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissSheffield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was a great dish! I couldn't find saffron anywhere so I went without and it still turned out wonderfull. Also added a 1/2 tsp black pepper. Had a nice zip, but not too spicy. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReginaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The saffron kills this marinade. Too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Very good!!! This recipe was simple, fast and tasted amazing. Everyone in the house loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
It was too sweet for us, although I cut Splenda in half. But I also cut cajun pepper in half. Felt like sweet herby chicken. Did not like the ansamble of herbs either(although I made a change - I used turmeric instead of shaffron-may be that was the reason). did not like the smell in the kitchen when it was cooking either.We still ate that. But no more of it. May be it is just not our type of dish. So I would not reccomend it to folks who do NOT like sweet type of chicken dishes. i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very Good and easy! used this recipe with 8 breasts. I did not have splenda, so I used brown sugar, Turned out well! Loved it. The chicken was very tender and Juicy!! Will def. make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States