Zesty Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Perfect! It's exactly what I was looking for. I added a little more horseradish for the extra zing. We went to a deli that made a warm ham, swiss, sweet relish, and horseradish slaw and although it sounded strange it was delicious. Now I can make the sandwiches at home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lboogie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is the closest to my mother's recipe (she never had a written recipe) that I can find. I leave out the Miracle Whip, add 1/2 of a sliced red onion, extra horseradish, celery seed, and some cocktail sauce. This has become a real staple in our house; I make it about once a month. And it brings back fond memories of Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Sorry not a fan... or maybe i just dont like coleslaw...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SausyMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sausalito, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very good coleslaw recipe. The only changes I made were using light mayo in place of the regular mayo, and omitting the dill weed (I really do not like dill). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie1140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
No White Vinager and Dill Seed? USE PICKLE JUICE! Dill pickles or Kosher will work. White vinager and dill seed is what pickle juice is made from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburgess_ga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
YAY! Love creamy slaw but didn't want the calories. Used fat free mayo and Miracle Whip to stay guilt free and it still tastes great! Love the horseradish too. Doubled the sauce and used one 48 oz. bag of cabbage from Sam's Club. Bam. Tub o'slaw for the week. Thanks Army Wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used fat free Miracle Whip and added one package of top ramen with the spice that comes with it...it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Definitely a great alternative to the typical cole slaw. I skipped the miracle whip, but used a flavored vinegar (white wine). Turned out the great. Mix the dressing separately from the vegetables than add a little at a time so you can control how creamy the finished product is. I tend towards using less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This coleslaw dressing is a HUGE hit at our house! I made a few changes to it and it is just fabulous. I use ceasar salad dressing in place of the Miracle Whip. I use just slightly less ceasar dressing than the recipe calls for with the Miracle Whip. And, I use dill dressing mix in place of the dill weed. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I've done this one a couple of times. Its too much of something or missing something. I keep playing with it, but I'm just not hitting the spot. It is good, but nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Aw-Some Coleslaw

A quintessential, simple recipe for perfect coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States