Zesty Chicken Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Loved this! Zesty, flavorful, and pretty low calorie. I followed many peoples suggestions, and reduced the bread crumbs to 1 cup, and increased the salsa to 1/4 cup and the ranch to 3 tbsp. I also added a large can of sliced black olives. I served it with a dollop of sour cream and a spoonful of salsa. I think next time, I will play even more. I want to try adding canned black beans, using crushed tortilla chips instead of bread crumbs, and adding minced garlic and fresh chopped cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Did not care for this all that much. Could not taste any of the spice from the taco seasoning or salsa - the breadcrumbs made it just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I'm rating this recipe 4 stars because I did not follow it as exact. I love the idea of turning a meatloaf into a taco inspired taste. So I didn't have salsa, ranch dressing or bread crumbs. Instead I used 2 lbs of ground chicken, 4 eggs, 1 1/4 cups of instant oats, fresh minced garlic, scallions, one packet of mild taco seasoning with half packet of the hot taco seasoning. In place of the ranch dressing I used sour cream and mixed everything together. I then let the meat mixture sit in the fridge for 4-5 hours before baking in the oven at 350 for an hour. Oh I also didn't use any cheese in this recipe. So in place of melting cheese on top I used a small can of tomato sauce with half can of tomato paste and sprinkled in some mild taco seasoning - to make a enchilada inspired taste. For my dish I used a 9 x 4 dish and coated with extra virgin olive oil and place down 2 Ole corn tortillas and a thin layer of my tomato sauce mixture. I then formed my loaf and topped off with the rest of my sauce on top. I served it with brown rice & black beans, steamed brussel sprouts, broccoli and cauliflower. I enjoyed this so much! Def will make this again - not sure if I'll actually make the exact recipe reference... I preferred my creation with fresher ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowhite_owls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
So good! Everyone loved it, even my 2 yr old! I added an extra tablespoon of salsa and ranch like a review suggested, perfect! I used a garlic cilantro salsa from Muir Glen and the flavor was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I used ground up taco shells instead of breadcrumbs and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
After reading the reviews I made this using a few ideas from a few reviews. I used a kilo of ground chicken, smashed a cup of Italian croutons and crushed a cup of taco shells, minced two small onions, put in 2 tbs. of minced garlic, the taco seasoning, 2 eggs and 5 tbs. of a medium chunky salsa. I mixed together all except the dried crumbs and added those slowly till I reached the right consistency (all of them). I put 2/3 of the meat mix into a loaf pan, put the cheese on top and the last 1/3 meat mix on the top of all. Before putting it in the oven I lightly sprinkled on red pepper flakes. When I removed it from the oven at 45 minutes I poured over 1/2 of a Cambells tomato soup can mixed with 3 tbs. of salsa. Returned it to the oven for the last 15 mins. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I liked it, my family was not as happy about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this for my husband and 17 year old, they are both picky eaters, I added so much more; instead of bread crumbs I used 3/4 cup baked Doritos, I put them in the food processor and made crumbs, I added 1/2 c. of regular bread crumbs, I chopped baby red,yellow, and orange bell peppers, I used 1/4 c. purple onion, smoked paprika, and instead of salsa, I used a can of roasted diced peppers. Sorry for adding more but I love peppers and onions and this recipe was transformed into my families favorite. Seasoned rice with Mexican seasoning and fresh green beans made a delicious Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious! Only changes to original were to cut bread crumbs down to 1 cup and spread additional salsa on top before baking to keep it from drying out. Served it with Goya Black Beans & Rice and a veggie...meal was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States