Zesty Chicken Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
You have to try it this way...even though I forgot the eggs, I substituted the bread crumbs for corn tortillas I chopped in the food processor (it equals the same amount of calories as the bread crumbs), and I even omitted the cheese to save on fat and calories. I topped it w/ thinly sliced onions and salsa for the last 15 minutes. This tasted like an enchilada w/out all of the fat and calories. I also used my own blend of spices w/ no salt...salsa has plenty of salt in it already. I know I changed this recipe around, but thanks for the idea...it will definately be cooked in my house again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
We loved this recipe! I did make a few changes based on the some of the reviews. I added an extra tablespoon of both salsa and ranch dressing. I accidently added the cheese in with the meat mixture, so I added an additional 1/2 cup to the top during the last 15 minutes of cooking, and then broiled it a few minutes to brown it. Also made my own bread crumbs with 2 pieces of toast. Very moist and great flavor! Will make again the same way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This meatloaf was wonderful. My picky eaters devoured the whole thing. After reading the other comments I didn't put all the breadcrumbs in and it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe! I did a bunch of adjustments though. I used 1.3lb ground turkey (99% fat free). I added 3 tbsp of salsa since I figured the lean turkey would be dry. Then I added only 1c plain breadcrumbs and ~1/4c rolled oat. I did follow the other suggestions and added only 1/2 packet of taco seaoning, added some thawed corn and also 1/2c cheese inside as well. My husband isn't big on onions, so I put in some onion powder instead. It had tons of flavor and was very moist. My husband is picky, but loved it! I will definitely make this again. I don't eat beef, so this is a great alternative for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was very easy and was good. I added chopped onion and used sour cream instead of dressing. I also used 2 pounds of chicken and increased the ingredients accordingly. There was a lot for leftovers. It is great re-heated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was yummy, even my 5 year old ate a big slice and he's very picky. I had no taco seaoning packet so I used about two tablespoons of some southwest seasoning I had. I also cut down on the bread crumbs by a 1/4 cup or so. This was really tasty and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Do try this! I used ground turkey, but I'm sure it's just as good with the ground chicken. Also, I used fajita seasoning because that is what I had on hand. My hubby declared it was just like his mom's real meatloaf, and was shocked to hear there was Ranch and fajita seasoning in it. He practically didn't believe me because it just didn't have a ranch/mexi taste. This is easy to prepare and so tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Interesting twist on meatloaf...I was very skeptical when my husband made this for me, but it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This recipe turned out great!!! It was delicious, the instructions were clear and it was very quick and easy to make. I think a layer of grated cheese in the middle would really taste good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I really liked this recipie, but my fiance thought there was too much taco flavor. We made it according to the recipie, and we didn't find it to be too dry, and thought it held together really well. We did use turkey though, because the store didn't have any ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States