Zesty Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This sounds good but seems to be missing something. I used a "zesty" italian dressing as some suggested but it was still pretty bland for our taste. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I give this recipe 5 stars for the flavor return on your time investment. I was looking for a recipe like the "Chicken Italian" my mom used to make. I only made a few changes: Used chicken breasts b/c that's what I had; marinated the chicken for about 30 in. in Mojo Criollo b/c my husband really enjoys the kick; and used packaged, pre-sliced potates. To save washing a bowl, I also just sprinkled the lemon, lime, and dressing over everything before covering and baking. After 45 minutes, I sprinkled shredded Italian cheese, Italian seasoning, and baked uncovered a few minutes more. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I didn't find this especially great. Kinda plain. I even used zesty italian dressing because that's what I have... and I marinated the chicken but still only ok. Potatoes were good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This recipe we found to be a 4 but could easily turn into a 5 star. Very easy to do but the chicken still lacked some flavor. I marinated my chicken all day in about 3/4 cup zesty italian dressing. I chopped the potatoes into bite size pieces but the 1 hr cooking time was still not enough. The chicken is moist and juicy and the potatoes are fantastic and full of flavor. The only thing I will do next time is season the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I cooked this just as written. After an hour of baking my potatoes still were a little hard. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Quite good-- an hour was perfect for the chicken, but didn't quite get the potatoes done. I also added some oregano based on the review I read that said it lacked a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cerro Gordo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cold Spring, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I found it easy to prepare and very tasty. A great way to prepare bland, skinless chicken breasts. To add even a bit more taste I substituted Ranch dressing for the Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I used chicken breasts and added more Italian dressing. Also, I only left it in for 45 minutes, otherwise it would have dried out. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was an easy feed for a larger amount of people than I'm used to cooking for. :o) Oh - and I ran out of Italian dressing so substituted half of it with nonfat Caesar dressing instead - it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I thought this was a great, easy meal that tasted pretty good too! I left the skins on the potatoes, added baby carrots and used chicken breast. Also used the salad dressing that has oil in (not fat free) as this gives a better coating and keeps moisture & flavour in. To give this a FAB presentation and just add a little something, I served this over a bed of fresh baby spinach & rocket leaves with some halved cherry tomatoes alongside - it looked like something you order in a restaurant!! I will make this again - perhaps vary the dressing to change it a bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States