Zesty Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This recipe has swept our family and friends. Whenever we serve it the casserole is emptied. If you like carrots and enjoy the added zest of horse radish, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is great! It is tasty and zesty. I used the full 2 tablespoons of horseradish; use less or more to your taste. I have tried similar carrot recipes, but this one was the best. I think the julienning makes a difference - I just used my potato peeler to "julienne" the carrots. Thanks Chef-Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow, definitely will make again! I used 1 lb bag of baby carrots (julienne). I had only straight jar horseradish, so I used half as much and added 1/4c sour cream. I made the topping first, and the moisture was absorbed quickly by the breadcrumbs while I waited for the carrots to boil. Next time I will prepare the topping immediately before placing on carrots so it can "spread" easier. Served these carrots alongside slow cooker beef tips & mushrooms in wine sauce and boiled noodles. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My family has made this exact recipe for years. Everyone loves it. Here's a trick to make it easier: cut the carrots into 4 or 5 chunks and cook. The cooked carrots are soft and very easy to julienne. Takes a little longer to cook but the cutting part is much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I found it delicious, and the whole family loved it. Next time I'll double the spread (may be I used too large carrots). I don't like mayo, my husband doesn't like sour cream, so I subbed the mayo with egg yolks, and it worked fine, very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrovna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My husband and I both love horseradish and we absolutely LOVE this dish. I actually HATE carrots but I love them in the dish. It's a shame that my kids think horseradish is too spicy for them so I don't get to make it very often. Otherwise this would be on the menu weekly. Amazing and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This recipe was in my husband's family for years. Only difference was the sauce (without crumbs) was put with the carrots, and the crumbs sprinkled on top of all. We used crushed Ritz crackers. Update: The negative comments on the horseradish seem to be from having it all sitting on top. It is milder when mixed with all the carrots, and the amount can be adjusted so there is just a hint until kids get used to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
We use this recipe, but use half sour cream and half mayo. Sometimes I add a little carrot water to thin the sauce too. We love it with our home grown carrots! We top the carrots with buttered bread crumbs instead of mixing them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I used the suggestion of using more mayo since I'm not a big fan of horsey sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
We make a version of these carrots for EVERY family holiday meal and there are NEVER leftovers! We slice and par boil the carrots, reserving some of the cooking liquid and mix it with the mayo and horseradish, and add minced onion and a hefty portion of Parmesan cheese. We reserve the buttered bread crumbs and paprika as a topping. Dynamite side dish for ANY MEAL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States