Zesty Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
unfortunately this came out bland.. i wanted it to have more of a bite..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
We use this recipe, but use half sour cream and half mayo. Sometimes I add a little carrot water to thin the sauce too. We love it with our home grown carrots! We top the carrots with buttered bread crumbs instead of mixing them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am a little surprised at the rave reviews. I think maybe the paprika was too overpowering for me. It was definitely a good start but I will keep looking for other horseradish/carrot recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This recipe was in my husband's family for years. Only difference was the sauce (without crumbs) was put with the carrots, and the crumbs sprinkled on top of all. We used crushed Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Maybe this is an aquired taste but I gave it an honest go. Followed the recipe completly. The mix on top was way to thick to try and spread and just weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
The flavor was delicious, but the texture was a tad off. Next time I'll thin the sauce a bit and instead of mixing the bread crumbs into the sauce, I'll toast them in a skillet in two TBS of butter and sprinkle them on top before baking. Otherwise, I think the ratio of horseradish to mayo was perfect. I served it with a sirloin roast and it was a perfect sidedish to roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was a very good recipe for carrots. Will I make this again. Yes but will add another topping as the bread crumbs didn't do much for the dish. Next time I will omit the bread crumbs and just use the Mayo & horse radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very tasty & different carrot side dish. I took other reviewers suggestions & used about 3/4 cup of light mayo w/ the 2 Tbsp of creamy horseradish. You can definitely taste the horseradish, so I was glad I added extra mayo. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karsmitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Nice Dish. I used a large mince instead of julliened carrots. Very creamy that way. Instead of boiling and baking (since I had no clue when dinner would be served today), we zapped the carrots in the nuke, then slipped them into a medium-small'sh sized slow cooker in which I had already mixed the sauce. Worked out very well. Sadly, my children, who hate horseradish, are still never happy when I add horseradish to potatoes or anything else, these carrots included (though they do eat at least a little - so they might learn to like it yet, after all, they do like grist now! and they used to hate them horribly). I loved the creaminess of these carrots, and my husband liked them overall, BUT, surprisingly enough, my husband, who likes more horseradish than I do, most of the time anyway, thought there was a tad too much horseradish in this particular dish! So, next time, I'll make it with a little less horseradish in the pot, but then I'll add some at the table for myself.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is great! It is tasty and zesty. I used the full 2 tablespoons of horseradish; use less or more to your taste. I have tried similar carrot recipes, but this one was the best. I think the julienning makes a difference - I just used my potato peeler to "julienne" the carrots. Thanks Chef-Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States