Zesty Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I found it delicious, and the whole family loved it. Next time I'll double the spread (may be I used too large carrots). I don't like mayo, my husband doesn't like sour cream, so I subbed the mayo with egg yolks, and it worked fine, very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrovna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I used the suggestion of using more mayo since I'm not a big fan of horsey sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow, definitely will make again! I used 1 lb bag of baby carrots (julienne). I had only straight jar horseradish, so I used half as much and added 1/4c sour cream. I made the topping first, and the moisture was absorbed quickly by the breadcrumbs while I waited for the carrots to boil. Next time I will prepare the topping immediately before placing on carrots so it can "spread" easier. Served these carrots alongside slow cooker beef tips & mushrooms in wine sauce and boiled noodles. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My husband and I both love horseradish and we absolutely LOVE this dish. I actually HATE carrots but I love them in the dish. It's a shame that my kids think horseradish is too spicy for them so I don't get to make it very often. Otherwise this would be on the menu weekly. Amazing and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is fair the way it's written. I found it a little dry. Just double the mayo, because the horseradish was a little overpowering before and you'll have some delicious carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We like these carrots with roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My family has made this exact recipe for years. Everyone loves it. Here's a trick to make it easier: cut the carrots into 4 or 5 chunks and cook. The cooked carrots are soft and very easy to julienne. Takes a little longer to cook but the cutting part is much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This recipe is pretty good, but I believe it would be a lot better next time I make this with some changes. The taste was really good to me, others not so much. I thought the horseradish went really well with carrots. I followed this recipe exactly, I used dried breadcrumbs, not fresh. When I mixed the crumb/mayo mixture it was very dry and I couldn't spread it over the carrots at all. If using dried crumbs be sure to add more mayo until you get a mixture that is of spreading consistency. My mixture was more of a crumbly topping, which was fine, but next time I'll play around with the mayo mixture. Equal parts of mayo and crumbs just don't seem to work well if looking to spread this, as the recipe states. I will make this again with some tweaking. Thanks (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This recipe has swept our family and friends. Whenever we serve it the casserole is emptied. If you like carrots and enjoy the added zest of horse radish, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This sounded scrumdidly - and I followed the ingredients to the letter, but it was a total let down. I love horseradish but for some reason it totally over powered the rest of the meal (I made it with beef), and left me wanting to pick the little crumbs out of my mouth with each mouthfull. Not a good combination of textures. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States