Zesty Broccoli and Cauliflower Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This was a nice change from having a lettuce salad. It was nice and crunchy. I served the sliced red onion on the side to be added to the dish as my husband doesn't like raw onions. I think next time I make this, I'll add cherry or grape tomatoes for color and taste. I'd also suggest chopping the broccoli florets into slightly smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
I just found this recipe last thursday 07/03/04 and made it twice over the weekend..Friday evening for my husband, daughter, daughter best friend, mom and dad...they loved it so much that they requested I make it for Sunday (we were having a cookout for the 4th of July) anyway, I thought it was sooo good and EASY!!! love easy. I took the same recipe on Sunday and got more raves about it. They all loved it. I think the more it sits in the frig. the better it tastes. Thanks for this quick and easy recipes I will use for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I only used half of one small red onion--I didn't want the salad to be overpowered by onion. I also made this into a creamy salad by adding a quarter cup of reduced fat sour cream to the italian dressing before tossing it with the salad ingredients. Nice basic salad. I'd make this again. I think this would be good with bacon and a little shredded cheddar cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Good! I have also used a similar recipe where I put in far more vegetables but I find out now it isn't necessary, the simpler the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I have made this basic salad for many years but have tweaked it for our family tastes. Instead of a Zesty Italian dressing I use a Balsamic vinegrette or a Red Wine vinegrette - not as harsh. I also marinate some fresh mushroom, grape tomatoes and black olives into the mix. Makes for a very colorful salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granville, New York, USA
Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
This was a great recipe. The only thing I did different was I forgot the sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Such a quick, easy and tasty side dish! I added a touch of feta cheese just to absorb excess moisture, and add a little extra zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
With so much Cauliflower and Broccoli being around from the farmers markets this time of year, I'm always looking for new ideas for these. This salad was just wonderful! I used chopped walnuts and raisins (as another reviewer suggested) along with grape tomatoes and those along with a good quality natural Italian dressing really brought the flavors together into a great balance. This turned out to be a truly tasty side salad that was enjoyed by all. It is also very high in nutrients. I will make this one again and again. Thanks to the original author for making this fine recipe available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Wow. This was pretty nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I did this as a stir fry and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States