Zesty Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I thought by the reviews that this would be something my guys would love. We all felt it was lacking in flavor, which left the gravy with a very bland flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Flavor was good and gravy was excellent, but I cooked my 2.5 lb roast in a crock pot on high and it was well done after 3 hrs. Thank goodness it makes a lot of gravy. Next time will try cooking on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I followed the preparation instructions exactly but then cooked the beef in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. It was tender and delicious! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Despite somehow slightly over-cooking this in a slow cooker (didn't think that was possible!) this turned out well. I initially rubbed the roast with onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper and bit of salt then dredged in flour before browning in butter. Tossed a few bay leaves in the slow cooker and lay the roast on top of them. Rubbed on the horseradish (which gets really mellowed out in final product) then poured over the stock and tossed in the onions as well as some minced garlic. Cooked on high for one hour, then low 5-6 more hours. Removed the roast and made the gravy as directed, while seasoning to taste. Served this with whipped cauliflower/broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I rubbed the meat with onion powder, garlic powder and fresh ground pepper before browning it. I also added a couple bay leaves to the bottom of the pan before laying the meat over the top of it. This was one of the best roasts we've ever had. It was gone in 20 minutes. And the gravy? VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This dish is super delish! I customized it a little bit to suit our taste. I browned the roast in olive oil, then transferred it to my baking dish and topped with the chopped onions. With the oil from the pan, I added a packet of Lipton Beef Soup mix. I poured this mixture over the roast and baked it for 2 hours. The roast was tender and moist and melted in my mouth. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcarleton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was easy and turned out very moist and tasty! I only basted once both times I made this, and it still turned out really moist. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
The gravy and the flavor of this roast was really good. Make sure you have a good cut of meat, my roast was still quite tough after cooking for 2 hours. May try it again in the crock pot to get it nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenofmycastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This turned out excellent! Ten stars! I followed recipe exactly, except for adding some baby carrots and just a little more beef broth to cover the carrots. I basted every 15-20 minutes, using a separate timer for the 2 hours of cooking time. The beef was the perfect doneness and oh so tender. This is the first time I've ever been able to make gravy successfully, too. And I don't even like horseradish (hubby does, that's why I tried this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Except for dredging the roast in flour before browning it in butter, I prepared this just as the recipe directed and was rewarded with a uniquely flavored roast and rich gravy. The only thing I might do differently next time is to try this in the slow cooker, as this wasn't quite as tender as I would have liked, which is certainly no fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States