Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Thank you for this recipe Arvilla. My 5 kids loved it. I did increase the sugar content for the batter mixture to 1 tablespoon. Made it just that little bit sweeter. Also note that it is REALLY important to keep the frying heat low and not be tempted to rush the frying process as the outside will cook nicely but the batter will remain quite gooey on the inside. Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I've never made my own zeppole - but have eaten enough to know which type I like! This recipe hit the nail on the head. Tasted delicious, just like my aunt's!! To spice em up a little bit - we add some pine nuts (pinnoli) and raisins. The raisins really add a touch of sweetness. Also great when you dip them in a cinnamon & sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
yummy..didnt have ricotti but wanted something fried and bad for you..so used cream cheese instead..still tasted wonderful..definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANI0403

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
This recipe is truly a winner. It has pleased and impressed the pickiest eaters. The ingredients are all staples in the fridge and it takes very little time to make. 5 stars for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I have never eaten Zeppole before but I thought these were good and pretty easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I'll increase the sugar to 1 tbsp. as others have suggested. I think I might also try a sugar/cinnamon coating rather than just confectioners sugar. One addition note, I dropped the dough into the oil using a measuring tablespoon and it only made about 25 cookies rather than 35. They about double in size as they fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I got to be honest me and my family just didnt like this recipe maybe i kinda expected to much. i felt so bad when my husband told me what happen your such a good baker but this is not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe is great..These doughnuts are fabulous...I made about 8-10 batches in one weekend! My husband took some to work and they offered to pay me to make them!! My kids all loved them as well and my husband like them plainrather than sugar coated..I did both a powdered sugar coating on some and a cinnamon sugar one some others...they both are super..next i would like to try a glaze of some sort..the only thing I changed from the original recipe is the ricotta..I use cottage cheese instead and do not cook the mixture before frying.oh yeah also about a tablespoon more sugar to the mix too. I am suprized they do not have more Zeppole recipes on this site.Thanks for opening myeyes to a wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Delicious! I added the extra sugar as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Tastes just like they came from Little Italy. The kids can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
These are not authentic zeppole...these are "fritters". The real zeppole uses yeast, flour, water and bit of sugar, that's all. You fry in oil and the result is a light, spongey texture. You can find the real deal zeppole sold at fairs and in pizza places. There is no comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States