Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great recipe. Not as good as the originals from NY, but its as close as i'll get here in Hawaii. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe is great..These doughnuts are fabulous...I made about 8-10 batches in one weekend! My husband took some to work and they offered to pay me to make them!! My kids all loved them as well and my husband like them plainrather than sugar coated..I did both a powdered sugar coating on some and a cinnamon sugar one some others...they both are super..next i would like to try a glaze of some sort..the only thing I changed from the original recipe is the ricotta..I use cottage cheese instead and do not cook the mixture before frying.oh yeah also about a tablespoon more sugar to the mix too. I am suprized they do not have more Zeppole recipes on this site.Thanks for opening myeyes to a wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I have never eaten Zeppole before but I thought these were good and pretty easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I'll increase the sugar to 1 tbsp. as others have suggested. I think I might also try a sugar/cinnamon coating rather than just confectioners sugar. One addition note, I dropped the dough into the oil using a measuring tablespoon and it only made about 25 cookies rather than 35. They about double in size as they fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
these were perfect. i had a grils night at my house and it was an italian food night. and these were absolutly the best all the women loved them. thank you for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
These cookies are quick, easy, and delicious. I made them to bring into work, but they didn't make it that far. These cookies were gone in less than a half an hour. I followed the directions exactly and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
just a suggestion, My Mom, from Italy, Colobria, usto make these w/ no ricotta and no sugar, but added dried zuccini squash, and at easter, would add buccala, dried cod fish,after being soaked overnight in water, changed often. try it, its better as a side dish to a main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Somers, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Good texture. Surprisingly they don't turn out too dense and the ricotta flavor is nice and mild. Definitely drizzle honey over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I've never made my own zeppole - but have eaten enough to know which type I like! This recipe hit the nail on the head. Tasted delicious, just like my aunt's!! To spice em up a little bit - we add some pine nuts (pinnoli) and raisins. The raisins really add a touch of sweetness. Also great when you dip them in a cinnamon & sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
YES! Now I don't have to wait to go down the shore in the summer!! These are fabulous, and I forgot the vanilla! They seem to be not quite as dense as I'm used to, but that is completely ok. I put a few in a bag and just added the powdered sugar to it, shook, and voila! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
These could not have been a bigger hit! Not only with my family, but with the neighborhood kids as well, with copies of the recipe going home to their parents. Amazingly easy. Next time, I am going to do half confec. sugar and half cinnamon sugar.. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States