Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I hate to give a bad review but these went straight into the gargabe. I must stress that I didn't use ricotta (I didn't have any) I don't know if that made a huge difference. The texture was like old dry bread. Not at all like I remember them being. I was excited when I found this recipe but, disappointed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I loved it. It was quick, easy & good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I've made this a couple times, and would definitely recommend using a thermometer. One time I didn't, and they came out raw in the middle (a bite I wouldnt wish upon anyone!). They really are inredibly good, whether they're exactly like the zeppole you've had before or not. Cinnamon sugar is my favorite topping for these :) Guests are always impressed as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Awesome! I had never tried these before. Was just looking for a way to use up some ricotta I had left over from making lasagna. For me it was like eating little pizelles in ball form. Next time I think I will try to use either anise extract or almond. That would make them even tastier. Will definitely me making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great recipe. Not as good as the originals from NY, but its as close as i'll get here in Hawaii. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe is great..These doughnuts are fabulous...I made about 8-10 batches in one weekend! My husband took some to work and they offered to pay me to make them!! My kids all loved them as well and my husband like them plainrather than sugar coated..I did both a powdered sugar coating on some and a cinnamon sugar one some others...they both are super..next i would like to try a glaze of some sort..the only thing I changed from the original recipe is the ricotta..I use cottage cheese instead and do not cook the mixture before frying.oh yeah also about a tablespoon more sugar to the mix too. I am suprized they do not have more Zeppole recipes on this site.Thanks for opening myeyes to a wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I have never eaten Zeppole before but I thought these were good and pretty easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I'll increase the sugar to 1 tbsp. as others have suggested. I think I might also try a sugar/cinnamon coating rather than just confectioners sugar. One addition note, I dropped the dough into the oil using a measuring tablespoon and it only made about 25 cookies rather than 35. They about double in size as they fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
these were perfect. i had a grils night at my house and it was an italian food night. and these were absolutly the best all the women loved them. thank you for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
These cookies are quick, easy, and delicious. I made them to bring into work, but they didn't make it that far. These cookies were gone in less than a half an hour. I followed the directions exactly and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
just a suggestion, My Mom, from Italy, Colobria, usto make these w/ no ricotta and no sugar, but added dried zuccini squash, and at easter, would add buccala, dried cod fish,after being soaked overnight in water, changed often. try it, its better as a side dish to a main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Somers, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States