Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This recipe was easy and delicious. It's lighter than I remember at the feasts and less greasy but that's a good thing. Although I don't know where the serving size comes from, I doubled it to get about 30. Maybe mine were bigger but I prefer them this way. Also took the sugar advice and agreed, I might even add a little bit more next time. Fantastico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAD928

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'm speechless! Seriously, I don't even know what to say about these except that I can't get my mouth to stop dancing. I've had zeppole's at friends homes and at country fairs, but have never made them myself until today. What have I been waiting for? Because I made these on a whim, I didn't have any ricotta in the house so I subbed with vanilla yogurt. Trust me folks, it worked amazingly well. I also used one tsp. of vanilla and two teaspoons of sugar. I can't wait to make these for my daughters next month! Thank you SO much for a fantastic recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was great....I took everyones advice and used a tablespoon of sugar.....I only yielded 20 zeppoles - not 35.....THANK YOU for this wonderful recipe!! The family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great Recipe - almost exactly like my mom's except she added lemon zest to her batter. I know someone expressed "whats up with ricotta" well, zeppole's are made with ricotta if following an Italian recipe and do not have a filling in them as someone else posted. Thank you for the recipe - they were delicious and reminded me of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I have never had zeppole at a fair, but I have had funnel cake, and it really does taste like little funnel cake balls. I am so glad for reviews - I had to read them all before feeling confident enough to make these. Here are some pointers if you've never made something like this. you can use any size saucepan of oil, as long as there are at least 2 inches deep of oil. Make the oil as hot as you can without burning, but after a batch or two you'll find they cook much faster and will need to watch carefully and possibly turn the heat down. A 1/2 Tbsp is the PERFECT amount of dough - the rounder the better - they WILL turn over by themselves, but only if the batter is somewhat round in shape. I personally dont understand why you mix it in a saucepan over low heat, but it does work and it is very sticky! (you know it is ready when it sort of looks like a unified dough) I also used 1/8 cup of sugar - it seemed to be the concensus on here to use more sugar. My insides were perfect, and I think it was because of hot oil and small amounts of dough. It is a super quick and easy recipe. I would suggest serving them immediately, it is hard to keep something like this warm - maybe they'd do ok in a warm oven- I'd love any suggestions for this as they taste much better warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My son said I should win an award for these they're so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mallett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
totally easy to make and so tasty.....no experience required.....would also recommend this as a mommy and me "project" in the kitchen :o) my 6 yr old was just beaming throughout the entire time.....from prep to enjoying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! I added a tsp of lemon zest to give it that melt in your mouth quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovin Spoonful

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These were very similar to the zeppoles I got at the county fairs in new jersey as a child, much better than I expected. They were soft, tender, and delicious. My friend agreed, and was eating them almost as fast as I could get them out of the fryer! I just threw mine in a bag with some powdered sugar and shook them up, just like we did at the fairs. Wonderful recipe, really brought me back. I did change the sugar to one tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milltown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
So good with cinnamon sugar and powdered sugar! I prefer the cinnamon though. We made the mistake of trying to cover an Oreo with this to make fried Oreos and they wouldn't turn on their own bc of the shape and didnt have much flavor. The reason I give this 4 stars is because it's definitely not sugary enough! Next time gonna use about a tablespoon of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States