Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I grew up eating zeppoles but this is the first time I made them myself. First batch turned out so good I had to make another! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
These are not authentic zeppole...these are "fritters". The real zeppole uses yeast, flour, water and bit of sugar, that's all. You fry in oil and the result is a light, spongey texture. You can find the real deal zeppole sold at fairs and in pizza places. There is no comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Thanks for the recipe.This one will be used often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
as an italian from da bronx i have had many zeppole in my life. after makeing these the first time i thought they were just ok. size was good fluffy and yes you are supposed to use ricotta in them. i found the taste not 100%. i think i may have used a little too much salt but something still seemed off i'm not quite sure what is off about them. i will have afew friends try them and ask what they think. i will try to make them again and tweek it a bit and then review again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Very easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olliebean
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
EXCELLENT! A few changes I made: I used 3 teaspoons of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I rolled my zeppoles in cinnamon sugar. They are fantastic, and I could eat the whole batch! One batch made approximately 15 medium sized zeppoles. I made two batches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olliebean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was an awesome recipe! Just like the italian resturaunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were amazing! I took the advise to add in an extra teaspoon of sugar and these were just perfect! I'm in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This recipe was easy and delicious. It's lighter than I remember at the feasts and less greasy but that's a good thing. Although I don't know where the serving size comes from, I doubled it to get about 30. Maybe mine were bigger but I prefer them this way. Also took the sugar advice and agreed, I might even add a little bit more next time. Fantastico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAD928

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'm speechless! Seriously, I don't even know what to say about these except that I can't get my mouth to stop dancing. I've had zeppole's at friends homes and at country fairs, but have never made them myself until today. What have I been waiting for? Because I made these on a whim, I didn't have any ricotta in the house so I subbed with vanilla yogurt. Trust me folks, it worked amazingly well. I also used one tsp. of vanilla and two teaspoons of sugar. I can't wait to make these for my daughters next month! Thank you SO much for a fantastic recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States