Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
These were good as stated but I added a tsp of lemon emulsion along with a tsp of vanilla. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Steelville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe came out amazing! We followed the recipe exactly except we substituted cream cheese instead of ricotta because we didn't have any on hand. It was still fantastic, but only made 15 zeppoles instead of the advertised 35.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is my first time making anything like this so I didn't really know what to expect. These have a nice crispy, yet soft texture and if you take them out of the oil a tad early it leaves a creamy filling inside which is kinda nice (although I can taste the flour). I wanted them sweeter than the recipe called for so I used 3 tablespoons of sugar. They were still just mildly sweet in my opinion. My husband and kids thought they were great though. I thought they were okay. It was fun to try something different though and my husband is asking me to make them again so I probably will. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sami
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made these for a Multi-Cultural Party at school (I am Itallian). They are a bit like doughnuts or beignets- light and fluffy. The recipe was very easy to follow, but I tweaked it a little. I added a bit more sugar and vanilla like some other reviews suggested and only put half a tablespoon of batter in the frying pan for a more manageable sized bite; all turned out well. They were delicious, and were a big hit at the party! Thanks for the awesome treat- I will definitely be making some more over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Really yummy!!! We added a blob of melted milk chocolate to the top of each treat. Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
These are actually called sfinge or sfinge de ricotta, zepole is fried dough and just as good but without the cheese but these were so very good! I also increased the sugar as other reviewers had and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Centre, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I am a professional Chef and graduate of the CIA. I now have 3 sons at home and was cooking for a rainy night "sleepover." I was looking for a fun Italian dessert to compliment spaghetti and meatballs. This recipe had the best ratings. Although Italian, I did not grow up on the authentic Zeppole, so I'm not sure what I should have expected, but I was able to churn them out to the kids in brown paper bags in no time at all. No yeast, no rest time, no mixer. "Zeppole" maybe not- easy, fun, tasty dessert? They LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Followed the suggestions of others and did the following for a 1/2 batch: no salt, 2 1/2 tsp sugar, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and I didn't cook the batter. They were GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was a nice treat. A good Italian donut. My family liked it but prefer the zeppoles i make by frying pizza dough. This recipe actually taste like fried cake to me but my mom thought it had an eggy taste(not in a bad way). I might try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These are absolutely authentic and delicious! We ate them with cinnamon/sugar and honey, but the most popular was powdered sugar. They are very similar to the light and airy Biegnets from the French Quarter in NOLA. The only thing I did differently was that I made up the batter about 2 hours before I fried the Zeppole. I just left it in the pan I had cooked the batter in. I'm not sure if this is what made them so light or just because of the recipe, but I'll definitely find out when I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States