Zeppole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
These could not have been a bigger hit! Not only with my family, but with the neighborhood kids as well, with copies of the recipe going home to their parents. Amazingly easy. Next time, I am going to do half confec. sugar and half cinnamon sugar.. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
The only thing I changed was to mix everything without heating first. Instead, I let it sit to blend for around 30 min. They were perfect, especially for company/special occasions! Hint: Another way to serve these is by setting them on your platter, drizzling honey across the zeppole, then dusting with conf. sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I followed the recipe as directed, increasing the sugar to 1 TBS as recommended. The zeppoles were VERY light & airy. I'm giving 5 stars for a doughnut recipe everyone loved, but I have to keep searching for a zeppole recipe to duplicate the ones made in New York. Zeppoles you buy in NY are more dense/doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
They were o.k. I was expecting to taste the ricotta. It was a little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
***** Yummy.... and oh so easy! I increased sugar as suggested by others. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
didn't care for it that much. doesn't taste like the zeppole you get in Brooklyn or at street fairs. i think this one is too eggy or something. if you coat it in confectioner's sugar the way you are supposed to, you definitely do not need to up the amount of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are out of this World!!! They are EXCELLENT and taste alot like a cannoli and are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I've never had these in a restaurant so I think they are pretty good. My son says they are nothing like the ones sold at the Italian restaurant near us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I was so thrilled to find this recipe. I have craved for over two years now! My husband was thrilled also so he doesn't have to hear me whine anymore. They tasted great and I have been asked for more from my kids. Thank you sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cream Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
One of the best recipes I ever tried! I too increased the sugar,and the vanilla. One trick, instead of sprinkling them with powdered sugar, put the sugar and zeppoles in a brown bag and shake. Also, be patient when they cook, let them get a nice golden brown and a little crispy. I made them twice in one weekend! Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States