Zebra Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
My family has made this recipe since I was a kid but the cookies can be difficult to find. They are called Famous Chocolate Wafers by Nabisco. They come in a Yellow rectangular box and are usually found on the top shelf in the cookie aisle or with the ice cream toppings. Sometimes they are only available around the holidays. The frosted cookies are laid on their side in a long row and then the whole thing is frosted with more whipped cream. This does not work with Cool Whip! It won't soak into the cookies to make the cake-like filling. This recipe is usually a dessert that the kids help with. They make the stacks of frosted cookies and put them on a plate and I put the cookies on a platter in a row. I save any broken cookies and crush them to sprinkle on the top. We always called this Holiday Log. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My Mom and Dad were married just before WWII. Mom made this cake all the time. My sister and I loved it! It is so easy to make. The cookies turn into cake in the frig. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My recently deceased mother in law used to make this. It made me nostalgic for her wonderful Sunday dinners. I am going to surprise my husband as soon as I can get the wafers. It sounds exactly like her delicious recipe which I had forgotten. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
For those who have trouble finding the wafers, they are called Famous Chocolate Wafers. A quick Google search turned up online ordering sources and a ubiquitous BigBox store beginning with W. They are made by the Kraft food company. King Arthur Flour has a recipe for homemade wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Guare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I never knew this was called zebra cake! Thanks for sharing! This recipe was recently featured in a magazine, but it was done in stacks of 5 cookies, with fruit neatly displayed on top..a very nice and easier-to-serve variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I recently watched a video here on allrecipes about how this recipe came about. I totally set out to make it when I came across the chocolate wafer cookies. What a great and easy plea-z recipe. While I thought the vanilla extract was just a tad to much, that's fine because after it sits and melds with the cookies. It should mellow out some. Thanks for sharing this way. I love making fresh whip topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I know this is an excellent recipe and I'd love to make it, but I need to know - Where do I find the wafers????? I've looked everywhere I can think of, where can I buy them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was my mom's go-to special occasion dessert. We loved it! It's now my kids' favorite. At Christmas, I used peppermint extract in the whipped cream and garnished with crushed peppermint candies. I recently found the choc wafers near ice cream cones and toppings at the grocery store...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
My mom made this a few times when I was young. I had all but forgotten it until one day quite a few years ago, a vague memory popped into my head. I went searching for the cookies that she might have used and found them on the top shelf at the grocery store. I knew they were the right ones because the recipe is still on the box. It is such a quick and easy dessert. Perfect for those who are baking challenged or those who just want to make something quick and easy. Easy enough for a weeknight dinner but the presentation is also nice enough for company. I have made this with thawed, frozen whipped topping and it turned out just fine. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I can't explain why this simple cake is so good, but it just is! Don't question it! I made the original version but sprinkled Starbucks instant coffee over the top instead of grated chocolate. REALLY yummy. For variety the 2nd time around, I used Trader Joe's Cookie Thins which are also a wafer cookie just like the chocolate Nabiscos, but they come in different flavors like lemon and coconut. The coconut crisp wafers are buttery and light and make a superb version of this cake. Something so good is usually not this simple. I'm lovin' it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States