Zebra Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
So yummy! For Valentine's Day one year, I seperated half the whipped cream and mixed in some raspberry preserves to one half. I used the raspberry portion to spread between the wafers to make the cake part. (Made 2 side by side logs instead of one long one) Then I covered the entire "cake" with the plain whipped cream and garnished with fresh raspberries and chocolate sprinkles on top. It was quite a hit with my boyfriend. I have also used strawberry preserves as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe and a picture is on the box of Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers. Add 1 tsp. vanilla to the whipped cream. Thanks for the suggestion to serve with strawberries. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LBloomfield
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was an incredibly easy dessert and is yummy too! Be sure to make it ahead and chill; it gets better the longer it sits in the fridge and the cookies soak up the cream. If you make the log shape, it helps to cut on a sharp angle, the slices look much better. Just before serving I added sliced strawberries and chocolate shavings. A dusting of cocoa powder would be pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBloomfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This is a 75 year old recipe that everyone loves. You need Nabisco's Famous Chocolate Wafers for the cookie.r They're sometimes hard to find, but I find that usually at least one of the food stores around me will stock this. If desperate, you can order a box of 6 packages through Amazon.com. Always make your own whipped cream (so easy to make). We sometimes use food coloring for various holidays (ie. half red/half green stripes for xmas, pink for valentines day with sprinkles, etc.) Leftovers are not as good the next day, which is due to the whipped cream. I've always referred to this as "Icebox Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this cake today for New Year's and everyone loved it. I could not get fresh strawberries in the grocery store so I used blueberries, mango, pinapple, and grapes. It was awsome with all the loaded on fruits. I also drizzled some melted millk chocolate over top. I only put it in the fidge for about 3 hours and it was purfect. I wanted to put the fruit on right away since I would not have time when I served it. It turned out great without putting it in the freezer first. My kids all want it for birthday cakes this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This is SO good! I LOVED it! I make it every year for christmas, you should definately try this dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
SO delicious!!! My whole family enjoyed this light & tasty treat! I sprinkled some holiday sprinkles on it to make it festive and it was gone within minutes. I didn't freeze this and used some homemade whipped cream and we all loved it. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I served this at a party. It was so good that no one believed it was as simple as chocolate wafers and whipped cream! The closest thing I could find to chocolate wafers in my area was the Oreo 100 calorie chocolate wafer thins and they worked very well. I didn't even thaw it out bf I served it. I just sliced it right out of the freezer and put the slices on a plate w fresh strawberries. I also drizzled some of that majic shell chocolate all over the cake bf i put it in the freezer. Yum yum so delicious! It tastes like cookies and cream cake. Will def make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I've been making this for years and it is always a hit! Very, very easy to make and always delicious! Make sure you make ahead and freeze and cut on an angle like the directions say. Taste great and looks like you spent a whole lot more time than you did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Wells Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is one of my family's favorite recipes. My mom has been making this since the 50's, you can't fail with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States