Zaz's Oatmeal Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
One reviewer noted that there wasn't much oatmeal flavor to the cookies. The cure for that, as well as to make nuts sweeter and "nuttier" is to toast them first. Put the oatmeal in a dry skillet, I use my favorite iron skillet (Grandma called it a spider, but I am deathly afraid of spiders!) and toast over medium-high heat, stirring the oats every little bit until I get a lovely fragrant oat perfume, and a little golden color. Your oatmeal cookies will be better than everyone else's if you follow this simple, quick step first. It's the little things that make baked goods amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
OK but nothing special. Very crumbly. I expected more flavor from the oatmeal and nuts. In a word...boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchwitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This makes an oatmeal cookie (which is fine) but definitely not shortbread and the reason probably is the baking soda. As far as a cookies goes no problem. Sorry.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These were good oatmeal cookies, but a bit over buttery and definitely NOT shortbread like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These came out great. Living at high altitude I did need to add about 1 1/2 Tbs, flour to the mix, and I did add about 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. Chewy and crunchy at the same time, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
When my Grandfather passed on, I became THE cookie baker and candy maker of my entire extended family. Which means... I bake and ship a LOT of cookies. I began using this recipe several years ago and it has become my absolute favorite. These cookies are easy to make, freeze wonderfully (both prior to baking and after), and are GREAT for shipping as gifts. The only changes I make to the basic recipe is that I use regular (always good quality) salted butter, and freshly ground sea salt, in place of table salt, which makes a subtle but amazing difference in taste. When baking for home, I wrap stacks of cookies with aluminum foil and store in the freezer, taking them out as needed. this way they stay super fresh and yummy! If I am baking for Christmas gifts, I add dried cranberries, and after they cool, I either drizzle with melted chocolate, and/or dip half of the cookie in white chocolate. Everyone RAVES about them! Other ingredients I add at times are mini chocolate chips, raisins and spices. A little tip to those who mention issues with their cookies turning out greasy... Try refrigerating the cookie dough for a couple of hours before baking. After baking, allow them to cool on plain brown paper (I save all of my paper grocery bags for this purpose). The paper will absorb any excess fat in the cookies, and it's a great way to recycle! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good cookies but a bit dry. A glass of milk or tea would be perfect :) I used almond pieces instead of walnuts and they are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Not terribly shortbready but still very good. The only change I made was to use regular butter. They took about 10 mins to cook. Not bad at all! Thanks, Zaz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Well, these were OK, but they really wern't shortbready. To me, there were just another oatmal cookie. I expected something more buttery and rich. They were good cookies, just not what I was after. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
My friends love this recipe when I make it. Rather than nuts, I use dried cranberries - they give a nice little tang to go with the richness of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States