Zabaglione Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Note that sugar should be added gradually to eggs in double boiler and should be whisked not just stirred. Don't add the wine until sugar and eggs have a custard-like consistency or the alcohol will burn off by the time it's ready. It can also be served at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
way too sweet... had the consistency and taste of marshmallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Follow the advice from Mousie reviewer and it will turn out perfectly. Thanks for the post (and the advice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Always delicious and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Loved this! I incorporated a couple of suggestions from a couple of recipes along w/ Mousie's review. You need to whisk vigorously & don't allow the simmering water to touch the bottom of the custard pan. I did as Mousie suggested & allowed it to thicken before adding the wine (I used Muscat instead of Marsala) & the wine thinned it out quite a bit but it soon thickened right back up. I served it in vintage sherbet glasses & topped each w/ two beautiful, huge strawberries & sprinkled a little raw sugar over it all. Wsa beautiful & had an awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Eughh! I followed the tips from mousie and it didn't get thick like I expected. And unfortunately, I somehow hoped that a recipe made mainly with egg yolks wouldn't actually taste like egg yolks. Wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I have served this over a spiced fruit compote (drained of fruit juices) and it is wonderful...if whisked continuously and for a good long time, it will thicken beautifully. The taste is like a custard laced with Marsala...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this with amaretto because it was 8pm and Desperate Housewives was on in 1 hour. I was in a cooking mood but didn't have time to go to the store. All the same, this was splendid and indulgent. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Not quite as good as my trad. recipe. I disagree with mousie about the steps. I have always combined all the ingredients then put it over simmering water and whisked it until nice and fluffy. Served over broken lady fingers and seasonal fruit. Fabulous finish to an Italian meal. My recipe 12 egg yolks 1/2 cup superfine (berry) sugar 3/4 cup Marsala Whisk until custard has tripled in volume and tempature reaches 140 degrees
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I haven't tried this yet, but I will and keep you posted. This looks very similar to the Norwegian eggedosis -- except for the Marsala and the cooking. I can't wait to try. To Mousie: The point of adding the Marsala and bringing it to the boiling point is so that the alcohol WILL burn off. This is so that children can enjoy without getting buzzed and becoming alcoholic before the age of 12. To the reviewer who said it tasted like egg: Ummm... that's what custard is .... Anyway! I'll let you know how I make out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States