Yummy Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I have made this several times, but the only thing I change is I don't mash the Yams, I slice them length ways and layer them in a dish. Like first layer yams brown sugar dot with butter and I also mix the spices together and spinkle on each layer. Actully I have three layers cook for about 35 mins at 300 Degs. then put marshmellowa on top and put inoven for about maybe 5 mins. until top in brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I rated this years ago and I feel the need to rate it again! It's by far my favorite side dish at Thanksgiving. I peel and boil the potatoes, then mash them. Apparently I have to try it with marshmallows this year because we have someone coming with a nut allergy. I happen to prefer it with the nuts so I'm making two batches. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I can't help but notice that mostly everyone on this site uses yams and sweet potatoes interchangeably. They are actually not the same thing. I'm so happy to have found this recipe, because everytime I do a search for yams, it turns out that it calls for sweet potatoes. Thank you for getting it right. I find yams to have more flavor then sweet potatoes. I love yams, but usually casseroles are bland. This one did a lot better for me, and everyone asked me for the recipe. This is definitely a keeper for the holidays. Personally I'd give it a 4 and would probably rate that for anything using sweet potatoes and yams, but everyone else raved about it, so I'm going to give it a 5. I'm a tough critic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a good receipe. I only changed a couple of things. I used (2) large cans of Sweet Potatoes,no one noticed. THey were actually surprised when I told them. I also chopped the pecans,instead of leaving them whole on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Made this casserole just the way it is written and loved the yam part. Lovely texture and not too sweet. Would try to do something to the topping as others have suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Westport, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Everybody loved this recipe. I had everyone ask if they could take some of it home for a snack later. I only used one egg and I added a bit more pecan and melted butter to the top of the dish because I like a little crunch in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made this recipe 2 years ago for Thanksgiving. I am hosting it again at my house this year and my brother has called to request this dish specifically! You know it has to be great for a man to request a dish he had over two years ago. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom247

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I make this for fall potlucks and at every Thanksgiving. It never fails -- someone always asks me for the recipe and EVERYONE loves it! I used to be a sweet potato-hater before this recipe but now I crave them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatyDid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I've made this dish several times for many different people and each time some one always asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I hate yams and LOVED this! It was the Thanksgiving hit. No more of Mom's marshmallow yams anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States