Yummy Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I put a review on this way back in 99 or 2000 and I have to say 7 or 8 years later, this is still a champion! I'll be forever grateful for this recipe. I thought the original poster would like to know how this recipe and her willingness to share it has become a family tradition in another person's home. My mother made something called 'Yam Puff' for years. Early in my marriage I could not find that favorite recipe and tried this one. This one was even better and I've now made it for 8 or 9 years straight. Thanks again! Thank you to all the wonderful people here who share their best-loved recipes.:-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelkaren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The hit of every Thanksgiving dinner I bring it to! I actually use yams from a can and it works just fine. Just drain most of the syrup before beating. This one will go in my Thanksgiving lineup for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I omitted the eggs and butter from the yam mixture and used orange juice instead to make it a little more healthy (and add a little extra citrus kick). It was really great this way, not heavy at all. I did however use the 1/4 melted butter for the topping. It was really tasty and I will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Five Stars? YOU BET! This was fantastic. Readers: you are going to get tired of reading people saying, "I don't even like sweet potatoes/yams, but I LOVED this!" Because it's TRUE! I've never seen my mom eat yams and she ate more helpings than anyone else. This is an absolute keeper. Wonderful recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSMITH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I have never made anything with yams or would not have even claimed to be a fan of yams in the past, but this recipe was delicious! A couple things I did differently: I peeled and cut the yams into medium pieces, put them in a microwave-safe bowl, added 1/2 cup water and microwaved them, covered, for 12 minutes. This made it much easier. Also, I halved this recipe. It was more than enough for 6 people. Another thing I did different, was I chopped the nuts and mixed them up with the butter and brown sugar and then sprinkled that mixture on top of the mashed yams. This casserole had just the right amount of sugar and spices. It was perfect! My two kids (4&3) loved it, too, which was nice for me! I think I might try adding a little orange juice next time I make it and see how that is. Thanks Liza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Yam haters all agree! This is the bomb! Very easy to make and I love the ability to prepare earlier and freeze. A time saver and a delicious side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I served this today to 12. It's tough to make a sweet potato casserole that doesn't "have legs", but I really like this one, and it went fast. It's a perfect combination of spices, easy to prepare, and you can easily cut the sugar and butter by a third and still have great results. I was very pleased with my guests' reaction. Thanks LL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I've made this for 2 holiday dinners and got tons of compliments. My mother says "it tastes just like pumpin pie" I AGREE! It's excellent. Excellent flavor and this is a guiltless pleasure. I can't wait to make it again. Not good with ham..too many sweets! Better to accompany a saltier dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
i didnt like this recipe, but my family loved it. if you are going to reheat in the microwave, you make want to remove the pecans before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Excellent recipe! I've been making this for Thanksgiving for the past couple of years and it receives rave reviews every time! We have kids in our family from 15 months to 15 years old and this is enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States