Yummy Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Madelyncooks
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I was really nervous about making this. At first I thought I bought the wrong veg...but it came out fantastic! I didn't change a thing. Made the yams the night before and added the topping right before putting in the oven and it came out beautifully. Delicious and I will be making again and again. Thank you so much. This was my first Thanksgiving Dinner at my house and everything came out wonderfully, including this. God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyncooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Very good recipe. I used two large cans of yams and no other modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Made just as described and it came out great. I think next time I would halve the recipe, which would be easy enough to do, and that way would have to worry about less leftovers. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I thought it was a good basic recipe, but make sure to whip the mixture until it is very light and fluffy otherwise it will turn into a brick. I also think I will add crushed pecans and more brown sugar and butter to the top so as to make it crunchier and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is more like a dessert rather than a side dish, especially with the pecans, felt like I was eating pie. If you prefer simpler yams, this may not be the right dish for you. People ate it and liked it, but still PLENTY of leftovers afterwards. Overall an OK dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
As good as I've ever had. I like the top crust alot. I experimented switching it to broil on my ovens top rack for the final few minutes. Made for a nice crispy browned crust with the nuts well roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This recipe has been in my family for ever. We do just one thing different. Instead of just putting the pecans on top we grind them up with brown sugar to cover the whole thing. Its very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsYoungs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I have made this several times, but the only thing I change is I don't mash the Yams, I slice them length ways and layer them in a dish. Like first layer yams brown sugar dot with butter and I also mix the spices together and spinkle on each layer. Actully I have three layers cook for about 35 mins at 300 Degs. then put marshmellowa on top and put inoven for about maybe 5 mins. until top in brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I rated this years ago and I feel the need to rate it again! It's by far my favorite side dish at Thanksgiving. I peel and boil the potatoes, then mash them. Apparently I have to try it with marshmallows this year because we have someone coming with a nut allergy. I happen to prefer it with the nuts so I'm making two batches. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I can't help but notice that mostly everyone on this site uses yams and sweet potatoes interchangeably. They are actually not the same thing. I'm so happy to have found this recipe, because everytime I do a search for yams, it turns out that it calls for sweet potatoes. Thank you for getting it right. I find yams to have more flavor then sweet potatoes. I love yams, but usually casseroles are bland. This one did a lot better for me, and everyone asked me for the recipe. This is definitely a keeper for the holidays. Personally I'd give it a 4 and would probably rate that for anything using sweet potatoes and yams, but everyone else raved about it, so I'm going to give it a 5. I'm a tough critic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States