Yummy Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this for thanks giving. I personally didnt even try it, I was too stuffed, but my family said it was DELICIOUS. Very sweet, like sweet potatoe pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Excellent! I used 2 cans of canned yams, since that is all I had on hand. So I halved the recipe, there was still more than enough for our family of four. By the way, my kids, who won't eat Yams, or Sweet Potatoes, LOVED THIS! My 12 year old went back for thirds! I actually told them it was pumpkin pie without the crust, so they would try it! It worked! The amounts are perfect, I wouldn't change it one bit! I forgot to add that I also chopped the pecans (chunky, not fine) and blended them with the brown sugar, then sprinkled on top and drizzled the melted butter over that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Everyone loved this at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe but just to sweet. Made this twice and just keep backing off the white sugar. 1/2 cp is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Woodard
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I was soo looking forward to this recipe... but unfortunately it was not quite what I was looking for. It just didn't seem to have as much flavor as I had hoped, which surprised me because of all the spices. But, maybe it just wasn't enough of the flavors that I was looking for. There was also too much butter on top for my taste. It definitely wasn't a bad recipe... just not suited to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
ok, not what I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pazko
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Excellent. I prepared this for on my husbands side Christmas dinner...who are really picky. It was a hit and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pazko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taytay, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! My entire family of non-yam eaters raved over it and all wanted the leftovers to take home. I crushed the pecans in the food processor to get a crunchy texture in every bite, and I also peeled, then boiled the yams to avoid the microwave mishaps. Everyone thought it tasted like pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
wow - its fantastic! peeling the potatoes was a bit tricky for me (I'm a novice) but otherwise easy. absolutely delicious & worth the peeling, to be sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
OMG! Best yams ever. I took to a Thanksgiven potluck. Was a hit. I have been passing this recipe out since. Even those who do not like yams or have never tryed them loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States