Yummy Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
i didnt like this recipe, but my family loved it. if you are going to reheat in the microwave, you make want to remove the pecans before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Delicious! The flavours blend so nicely in this dish. I did not have enough yams and added some butterbut squash which tased great too. I crushed the pecans for the top because I only had peices but next time I will use the full halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I've made this for 2 holiday dinners and got tons of compliments. My mother says "it tastes just like pumpin pie" I AGREE! It's excellent. Excellent flavor and this is a guiltless pleasure. I can't wait to make it again. Not good with ham..too many sweets! Better to accompany a saltier dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving a few weeks ago. I followed the recipe exactly, except have a sister who doesn't do dairy, so subbed margarine for the butter. Everyone that tried it commented on how good it was...multiple times! Definitely a keeper. Thanks for this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
this casserole tasted pretty good but i thought it's texture was a bit dry. i made the yams part as directed then froze it for a week to serve at thanksgiving. maybe that had something to do with the dryness? i also placed a few minature marshmellows over the topping before baking. thanks liza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I made this recipe twice already and it's fantastic and easy to make. Hats off to the submitter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
The best ever!! I usually make 2 batches for Thanksgiving, one with pecans painstakingly shaped into a turkey on top and one topped with marshmellows. The one with the marshmellows always go fast and the pecan one barely gets touched, this year, I am making 2 batches with the marshmellows on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookerkate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Excellent recipe! I've been making this for Thanksgiving for the past couple of years and it receives rave reviews every time! We have kids in our family from 15 months to 15 years old and this is enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREND2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I have never made anything with yams or would not have even claimed to be a fan of yams in the past, but this recipe was delicious! A couple things I did differently: I peeled and cut the yams into medium pieces, put them in a microwave-safe bowl, added 1/2 cup water and microwaved them, covered, for 12 minutes. This made it much easier. Also, I halved this recipe. It was more than enough for 6 people. Another thing I did different, was I chopped the nuts and mixed them up with the butter and brown sugar and then sprinkled that mixture on top of the mashed yams. This casserole had just the right amount of sugar and spices. It was perfect! My two kids (4&3) loved it, too, which was nice for me! I think I might try adding a little orange juice next time I make it and see how that is. Thanks Liza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States