Yummy Veggie Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
The recipe says "veggie omelet" but there's not a lot of veggies so I added some mushrooms and tomaotes. I also added a little garlic. I used cheddar cheese instead of the swiss - great for breakfast and perfect with a side of whole grain toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2000
Really great for weekend brunch. If you like to make this with a Mexican flair add 1 tbsp of finely chopped fresh jalapeno pepper to the veges before cooking them. Then when placing the filling in the omelet add 2 tbsp of your favorite salsa and a little fresh snipped coriander leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
It's funny because I too changed the recipe and it was the best omelet I ever made! I believe it's the process that we are all having success with. I finely chopped up some turkey slices, 1/2 an orange pepper, and 1/4 of a green apple. I sauteed the turkey, pepper and apple in almond oil (just had it on hand) lightly sprinkled the mix with crushed mint, then set it aside in a bowl, sprayed the same pan with PAM, poured the egg mixture and moved it around in the pan as indicated, super easy!!, then added back the mixture, topped it with a chopped up deli slices of borehead's horseradish cheddar cheese (happened to be the cheese we had for sandwiches at the time) and sprinkled some romano cheese on top, then folded the omelet over--don't be worried if it breaks up a little, just fold it over and continue to cook, it should jell just fine. And voila! instant success. My advice, choose the leftover ingredients that you have that you usually make sandwiches with, substitute where you are missing, I was missing onion so I substituted it with a green apple, and keep the amounts of each to a minimum, I usually make the mistake of too much cheese or too much meat--making it too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I too cut back on the salt a bit. The trick to a light / airy omelet is to have the eggs at room temp. They hold air better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I just love to make Omelets and veggie ones are my favorite. I only use two eggs. Add just about any veggies that are fresh and in season. I also add fresh herbs. One trick is to tilt the pan when lifting the side to let the uncooked egg slide to the sides. Also if you have a lid that fits over the pan, putting that on right after you add the toppings and cheese will hold in the heat and cook any uncooked egg left on top, usually just long enough to melt the cheese. Nothing worse than uncooked egg in your Omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Very filling!! Since my boyfriend is a big eater, I gave him the whole omelet instead of cutting it in half. I also added 1 plum tomato, a handful of cut mushrooms, 1 cup cheddar cheese & 1 cup mozzerella cheese for each omelet. The omelets were HUGE! Very good!! Pretty easy to make...the most time consuming part was chopping the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is the perfect way to make an omelet, no matter what kinds of fillings you want to use. I've used this recipe as is, for Denver Omelets, for Swiss & Mushroom omelets, etc. Throw in any veggie you have on hand. Great instructions that turn out a delicious, fluffy omelet every time! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is great just the way it is, but when I do omelets I always heat up the broiler when I heat up the burner. After cooking the eggs over medium heat until just bubbly, I put the pan under the broiler until the top of the eggs just cook as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is my new way to make an omelet. SO easy! Next time, I'll definitely use less salt (and we like salt). I loved the filling, but we'll add a little meat when we make this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Nicely detailed instructions on how to produce a perfect omelet every time. Omelets, of course, can be filled with almost anything, but give the onion-bell pepper-Swiss combo a whirl... it's very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Simple Italian Omelet

A couple simple techniques are all you need to make perfect omelets.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States