Yummy Vegan Pesto Classico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Seriously some of the best pesto I have ever tasted! I kept the recipe raw and didn't toast the pine nuts and it came out great! Nutritional yeast is an amazing substitute and I think may even taste better than parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Has a smooth, creamy texture. Really tasty, quick and easy. I didn't have pine nuts and substituted pumpkins seeds. Came out perfect! Definitely a do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Oh My Gosh! Yum!!! My pasta is still cooking & I love this pesto straight up right out of the blender! I actually made a hybrid of this recipe and Presto Vegan Pesto and had to make some subs for what I had on hand. I used pumpkin seeds instead of pine nuts and added 1 T lemon juice. I have Brewer's Yeast rather than Nut. yeast, so my pesto is a little browner than it should be, but still awesome! Perfect amount of garlic. I picked basil from my garden, not sure of the actual measurement... just kept adding until it seemed right. Thanks for the great vegan pesto recipe, CandiedViolet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is the perfect pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morenasa72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great recipe! Needs more basil than just one bunch! Arugula or spinach or a hint of mint is nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I just made this for dinner and have to say how delish it is! I did not even have pine nuts on hand and it still tastes awesome!! Thank you for a wonderful simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Delicious and easy. Really didn't taste any difference between this and regular pesto. I made it with fettuccini, sundried tomatoes, mixed mushrooms, artichokes and baked italian tofu and it was really good. Oh yeah also sprinkled some walnuts on top. Yummmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
yummy! I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers and added in other greens (parsley & swiss chard, what I had on hand). The nutritional yeast gives it a good flavor, and doesn't taste too cheddar-y(like it has in a couple other recipes I've tried). We are trying this tomorrow over Rice Pasta w/ Chicken. (we are dairy-intolerant, not vegan by choice) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I hesitate to rate this recipe because I made it with baby arugula, not basil. Other than that one substitution, I followed the recipe as written. Really excellent pesto - and I imagine it would be just as delicious with basil or any other greens variation. The amount of garlic was perfect, not overpowering; the nutritional yeast (which I love) adds a wonderful cheesy taste. The arugula lent a slightly bitter bite that I enjoyed just as much as I like regular basil pesto. So, I posted the review anyway to encourage others to try the recipe - even if all they have is arugula. UPDATE: I have now made this with just regular basil from my garden. Served in a grilled veggie pasta salad to hordes of hungry coworkers. They loved it. Also made it with lightly toasted almonds and basil. I believe this was the best batch yet. Freezes exceptionally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have made this recipe three different times; it's THAT good! First, I made it according to directions and ingredients. Then, the second time, I ran out of basil, so I added some kale, and it was still delish! A great way to sneak those green leafies in there! The third time, I ran out of pine nuts, so I subbed some walnuts for a portion of the pine nuts, and I did mostly kale with only a little basil for the flavor, and it was still amazing! This is a fabulous recipe -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States