Yummy Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
We made two big trays because all my nephew and nieces were coming over, topped w/ sourcream and it was gone! Not a bite left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KissTheChefette
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Only used 1 stick of butter (1/2C) and 28 oz of tots. I also put all of the cheese called for on top (not mixed in) and omitted potato chips (put under broiler for about 5 mins to crisp up cheese). Before putting in the broiler, I sprinkled the top with garlic powder, salt & pep. Also added about 2 tbs of french onion dip that was sour cream based for some oomph. Even my casserole snob/exec chef bf loved it...... which means ALOT in this house! Next time I may try to crisp up the tots first since it was kind of mushy, but that is just a minor revamp, that's truly not necessary bc this is great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good. And there are so many ways to play with this kind of dish. I use cream of broccoli cheese soup and fresh, steamed broccoli florets and top with french fried onions. Good way to get your greens too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe! Cooked it tonight as a side dish and couldn't believe how good it was. The chips on the top were the best part! I think next time I will try putting some ground beef in it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Excelsior Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was pretty good- it seems like another variation on the hashbrown casserole recipes out there. I doubled the recipe (to give half to a friend w/ a new baby); the only changes I made were that I used 1 C melted butter & 1 chopped sauteed onion for the whole doubled recipe. I also used less cheese- probably about 1 C for the whole thing. All in all, it turned out pretty good- very filling. I think this would be good as a main dish w/ cooked chicken & veggies added in, or even cooked groud beef. Also would be good at breakfast maybe w/ added sausage or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I thought this recipe was wonderful. It reminded me of everything you'd want on a baked potato. My kids loved it and I absolutely adore it too! I use PAM to grease the pan and that worked just fine....also, cut the butter back. It gets too greasy with the original amoutn. I've made it a couple of times and the second time I made a couple of changes to it and it still tasted the exact same. Instead of melted butter, I used about 3-4 T. of country crock (quicker and I was just throwing this together). Also, I was out of cheddar and used Mozzarella. It was equally as wonderful as when making it with cheddar. This is a great, quick, throw together type of recipe. I think it could be modified in many ways - my husband said bacon would be good in it...also, I've thought about broccoli as well. Anyway, great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Made this for my mother's birthday party today, everyone really liked it! Thanks, I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly (except I bought store-brand tator-tots) and it was really tasty! I will do the same exact thing next time!!! (The sour cream and onion chips are a nice touch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
We love this recipe! I add a pound of ground beef and an extra can of cream of mushroom soup and use a teaspoon of black pepper instead of a tablespoon. Turns out great every time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Oh my goodness! DEEELICIOUS! I sauteed onions, and minced garlic then browned the ground beef in the onions and garlic. I needed the added protein to make this a main dish--- oh soooo good! Everything else I mixed together in a separate mixing bowl, setting aside some shredded cheese to sprinkle on top after assembled. After greasing pan I poured in the meat/onion/garlic mixture. Then topped it with the tator mixture. Instead of chips I used french fried onions and sprinkled cheese on top! Turned out absolutely scrumptious! Even my husband is now a tator casserole convert! :) Thanks jana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Standish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Turner, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States