Yummy Taco Salad Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This tasted pretty good. My brother made something very similar over the holidays. I though, made it much healthier and changed it a little to what I had in the house to use up. As I was reducing the ingredients I used a 9x9 pan. I used no fat low sodium mashed beans, for the sour cream I used a 5.3 oz container of non fat plain Greek yogurt which I mixed 1 Tblsp approximately of Penzeys taco seasoning (reducing that layer to a 1/3). I like olives, but others don't so I left them out. For the cheese layer, I only did about 1/2 cup of small chopped reduced fat cheddar and jack cheese blend I had in a block. Lastly, I replaced the green onion with about 3 tblsp. of very finely minced white sweet onion. Everything else I left the same. After tasting it, I thought it had a good flavor. However, I found my tweak of changing the onion, to what I had on hand, a bit crunchy. So, to save it, I popped it under the broiler on low for about 10-11 minutes. It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
BIG hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I loved this! unfortunately I couldn't use avocado with it, but it still tastes amazing. I also didn't use any peppers or olives but that's because I don't like those. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Recipe tasted okay, I was a little concerned about the MSG in the recipe. Homemade seasoning would have made it much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Can't go wrong with this popular dip! One of the favorites at my recent taco party. Thank you for posting, JWEARY15!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
As described, this is a yummy taco salad dip and easy to assemble! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I've been making this dip for years, it actually gets invited to parties before I do. I mix some salsa in with the refried beans before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
made this for a teachers luncheon....no substitutions what so ever. gone in minutes....Delicious.....thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Christian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have made this dip many many times over...the only change I make - is in the avocado layer is add a bit of Cayanne Pepper for a little punch and I also seed the tomatoes before I chop them or they tend to be really runny and wet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Krol Rothfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
So simple and so good. My husband wanted seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States