Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! Great recipe and no changes done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is a winner! I have been making sweet potato casserole every holiday for the last 15 years. I have tried many different recipes for it and I must say that this one has to be my favorite. I prefer the fresh sweet potatoes to the canned, which I baked and then mashed. It's not crazy sweet like some of the other recipes are and the consistency was perfect, not too wet. Think I am gonna stick with this one. I doubled the recipe for thanksgiving and was the favorite of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Awesome! Made exactly as written but halved the recipe, and added cinnamon and nutmeg to potato and topping. I think it deserves less stars because those were omitted, but it turned out beautifully with a great texture, this is my new sweet potato recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SrishArora
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Loved this however after reading reviews, I did change the recipe a bit and it turned out great. Reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and doubled the topping. Used 6 sweet potatoes (to make 4 cups)..added Cinnamon and Nutmeg! Makes a difference. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for thanksgiving with the suggested adjustments of more vanilla (it's hard to have too much vanilla) and cinnamon; evap milk in place of milk; and additional clove and nutmeg. I thought the clove would be too much after I added it, but the finished result was really good. My husband who swears by my fresh pumpkin pie said he liked the casserole better than the pie this year! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I loved this recipe!! I never really liked sweet potatoes, but this was amazing!! I used a couple of the hints from other reviews I baked 3 sweet potatoes for an hour and a half, used evaporated milk instead of milk, and doubled the topping for a single recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huachuca City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The adults loved this at thanksgiving dinner. The kids didn't like the nuts. It was delicious. It will Get a Repeat performance. The children can eat something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Favorite Thanksgiving dish!! I usually make it again for Christmas...it's that good. I've made it for a few years now, always comes out great & everyone loves it! I made a little extra streusel topping this year...recipe x 1 1/2. ;) Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe as is except added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon into the topping. I loved it (and I am not a huge sweet potato fan) and my husband had far more than he needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is soooo good. Almost a dessert. I've made many times. I usually double the recipe using 8 large sweet potatoes. When I double the recipe,I triple the topping because it is so good. I also use half milk and half condensed milk to get it extra creamy. Love it. Also ... this can be made the day before and stored in the frig. Take it out of the fridge about 1/2 hour before ready to pop in the oven and it will come out perfect. If your topping is spreading... you are letting the butter get too soft. It should be a little cold still when you are combined with other topping ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States