Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Simple, easy recipe with elegant results. The pecans add crunch and a warm, Southern touch to this traditional Thanksgiving side dish. Nice change from the marshmallow thing I usually make. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I make this with canned sweet potatoes and It turns out great. I took the advice of another reviewer: "One large can (40 oz I think) is just over 4 cups (I use the whole can), but the trick is to boil them in the syrup for awhile to get them kinda mushy, then drain and mash them in a bowl…" This is good advice and I get rave reviews on this recipe. I use heavy cream instead of milk and I half the sugar as they can be pretty sweet if using canned. I don't always make the topping and they are still fantastic. This recipe is easy and so, so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Definitely had some changes: Subbed evaporated milk for regular Added a full tsp of (our own homemade) vanilla extract Tsp Ceylon cinnamon 1/2 tsp ground cloves 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg Threw out topping, used mini marshmallows (always my fave since being a kid - I know it isn't for everyone)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doubleh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lp beauty
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Delicious! I even used only 4 tablespoons of organic sugar instead of 1/2 cup! But I did bake my sweet potatoes in oven first not boiling them brings out the natural potato sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
FANTASTIC! I made this for Thanksgiving one year and get requests for it all year round now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Listen, this casserole is an indulgent sweet. It's not a savory dish and if you don't like sweet potatoes or yams, don't go into it thinking you'll come out liking them on the other side. My grandmother had been making this recipe for years. I'm guessing from a Betty Crocker cook book. I really like it. But I upped the sweet potatoes casserole game and have never looked back. I stopped pretending this was a casserole and got real with myself. I threw the whole thing in a pie shell and baked it with double the topping. Best sweet potato pie ever. EVER. I up the ante with pumpkin pie spice and adding a bit more vanilla. We still serve it warm and it was an instant hit with the family. Every year this is part of our Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Byers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
New family tradition to the Thankgiving table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This has been a staple at our family Thanksgiving dinners every year. It was such a hit the first time I made it that everyone asks me to make it each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It is so delicious, I didn't need anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Saunders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this for the first time for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! Even people who don't normally eat sweet potatoes had gone up for seconds! I will for sure be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States