Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I doubled the spices and butter and cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this for a work Christmas party and it was a hit! I followed some of the recommendations from other reviewers and baked the potatoes in the oven at 375 for 75 minutes before mashing them. I also used evaporated milk in place of regular milk and cooked it for about 10 minutes longer than called for. I had doubled the recipe and still backed it in a 9 x 13 baking dish so the amount of topping was perfect. I will be making this again for parties and holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for sweet potato casserole that I could pre-make and freeze for Thanksgiving since I was having surgery on my hand the week before Turkey day and then still planning on hosting dinner the day of. This recipe was easy to prepare, froze well and once thawed and reheated was delicious. Note I had prebaked it prior to freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I don't eat sweet potatoes however every one else loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I have to make this every holiday now or my family will throw a fit. I took reviewer Melissa's tips: Always bake the potatoes instead of boil & double the topping. No one is ever going to complain that there's too much pecan topping!! You can bake those potatoes in advance, but do take the skins off before they go in the fridge - it's just harder to separate when they're cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Big hit with everyone at the Thanksgiving table, although the little kids didn't like the pecans. That was the adults' favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am actually making it again next week. the only issue I had with it was that the pecan topping didn't "melt" per say. it stayed very brown sugary. I think this time I will add more butter possibly? any suggestions? I also used one sweet potato and one yam. it was a mild sweetness I was afraid of it being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I adjusted this recipe for double servings for my Thanksgiving party and everyone LOVED it! Got raving reviews and I would highly recommend it. I used all brown sugar inplace of the white it calls for and that made it not too sweet. The double servings called for extra 30 minutes of total prep/cook time but it was well worth it. FYI 1 large sweet potato in the store is about 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
My brother-in-law said these were to sweet but NOONE else agreed with him! They were the first thing to disappear from Thanksgiving Leftovers. I combined the ingredients the night before to make it easier in the rush of getting the meal on the table. My only complaint is I don't think it really served 12 - I would make a lot more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States