Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Superb!! OK..I changed some things...added some things..made it MUCH BETTER!!! I am from Louisiana...so I grew up eating sweet potatoes year round. But holiday time always mean Sweet potato Casserole..this one is the closest to how my granny and mom made it. I used 3 BAKED sweet potatoes (I often double the recipe). For a single recipe I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and I double the vanilla up to 1 tsp. I use evaporated milk instead of regular milk. I add 1 tsp of cinnmon, 1/4 tsp of both ground clove and ground nutmeg. For the topping..I double the recipe even on the single recipe. Does that make sense?? LOL ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I am 50 years old and my family has made basically this same casserole all my life - it's very common in the South. A TIP: it's much more flavorful if you use baked sweet potatoes - baked for at least 1.5 to 2 hours to bring out their full flavor - than if you boil them. It's also a lot easier - just cut the cooked potatoes in half and scoop out their goodness - no peeling! And do not substitute other nuts for pecans. It's just not the same without the true southern nut meant for sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2493 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Yummy is right!! I made this today as a trial run for Thanksgiving (and this will be the dish I am taking!). I baked my potatoes (3-medium sized) for 1 hour. I cut them and placed into my food processor with the other ingredients (and I doubled the vanilla to 1 tsp). This came out so so so smooth - it's a wonderful texture. I doubled the topping and it was plenty (maybe could use a bit more even) as soon as I took it from the oven I had to try it and it's delicious! I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk. **If you boil your potatoes, you leave the skin on and peel when they're done. *UPDATE* I made this again with canned sweet potatoes and while it was good it isn't AS good as fresh baked potatoes. I suggest if you want to impress your guests stick to the baked potatoes, it's more work BUT so worth it. Plus with canned potatoes it was runny and not whipped - we didn't care for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving based on all the positive reviews here, and my family loved it! The recipe claims it serves 12, but we finished it off with only 8 people, so I'd recommend making extra if you are serving a hungry crowd. I found that baking the sweet potatoes helped them retain a better flavor than boiling them. I put 5 large sweet potatoes on a cookie sheet in a 375F oven for about 1 1/4 hours. Then I sliced them in half and used a potholder to squeeze the potatoes. The insides popped right out of the skin; I didn't even need a spoon. Oh, and if you think the recipe would be improved by doubling the amount of pecan/butter/sugar topping, I'd recommend against it. It will taste delicious, but you'll end up with unappetizing pools of butter on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
771 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I did the following....just microwaved my potatoes until fully cooked and then sliced them and placed cut side down into an 8X11 pan. I combinded the topping ingredients (flour, sugar, butter and nuts) and crumbled it on top of the potatoes and baked for 20 minutes....TO DIE FOR...and much lower in fat and calories than making the "casserole". You might want to note that the topping does NOT spread (the flour prevents it) so how ever you top it...that's how it will look when it comes out of the oven. Just wanted to let you know being I thought it would melt and spread a bit...but it does not! Very good recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
409 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was great. Roasting the yams whole in foil for an hour or so depending on the size of your yams gives awesome flavor instead of boiling... The family gobbled this up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDNGRL322

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Made this recipe twice with great results! Used brown sugar instead of white and added 1 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg. We like it cold, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is a good start, but as the previuos reviewer suggested, you MUST roast the sweet potatos..it brings out all the natural sugars and sweetness. Now here is my addition...the last 15 minutes you are roasting the potatos, put whole bananas, skin on, and roast them for 15 minutes until they turn black. The bananas roast in their own skin and oils and become like banana pudding. Add that to the puree, with a touch of maple syrup for sweetness. Guaranteed to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Woodmere, New York, USA
Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I took a chance and added this untried recipe to my Thanksgiving menu and it was the star dish of the feast! Everyone raved and insisted on taking the recipe home. I only used 1/2 the amount of sugar as I worried it would be too 'desserty' -- and it was absolutely wonderful! I will be making it every year. Thank you Tina for sharing this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very tasty and a welcome change from my own sweet potatoes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States