Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This has become a new family favorite. I add nutmeg and cinnamon for flavor. This year I topped with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjstrouble1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I always make these recipes as they come, but I bought yams instead of sweet potatoes and I didn't have time to rush out to buy them so I used the yams. This will now be a holiday dish from now on-my family LOVED it. It is so yummy, just thinking about it makes me crave more. Serve it warm, it tastes even better warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Super easy and very tasty. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Casserole is in the oven as I type. We used 6 sweet potatoes, baked in the oven. I use to buy the canned but wanted to do it up right for family coming. ***Here's a tip if you really have the time to pull it off. Anyone that eats sp's knows they can be stringy. To eliminate this & have smooth & creamy mixture we pressed all the cooled sp's thru a small mesh strainer. This step holds back the stringy stuff and makes for creamy, dreamy sp's every time! Yes, labor intensive, but hubs did this for me yesterday so all we have to do is assemble today! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Thorne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this and everyone loved it. the only thing I did different was added small marshmallows to the top. Definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was great, also easy but did what others stated and baked the sweet potatoes for an hour at 375 and left in oven for another 30 minutes after we shut it off. They scooped out easy and filled a 4 cup measuring glass with the mashed sweet potatoes. Cut sugar to 1/4 cup and used raw sugar instead of white. Also added the 1/4 TSP of ground nutmeg, ground cloves and the teaspoon of ground cinnamon as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made many versions and tasted many versions. This one is absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreamz3311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This last Thanksgiving was my first with my in laws. My mother in law asked for me to bring a sweet potato casserole. I was super nervous as if never made a casserole of any sort. Though needless to say this recipe was very easy. its also a budget friendly recipe as most of the ingredients I already had! Which is a win for me! Anyhow the mother in law loved it and so did the kids. It's Christmas and she asked me to bring it again! Which is a huge compliment :). I'm making it right now! Yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great, simple recipe! This will be my third year making it for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa J Arrastia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe as stated for Thanksgiving the past 2 years and it is a big hit with my family. I will try it doubling the topping next time per my daughter's request, but I don't think it needs a thing. Excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brazil, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States