Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is delicious and easy to make. I ended up baking peeled yams in foil and dumping that in the mixer bowl. Couldn't be simpler and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was alright, not sensational, I felt there was something missing in it, as it was a bit bland. Next time I think I will double the topping on it and add brown sugar instead of white and maybe cinnamon and nutmeg to the sweet potato mixture. It was probably the most disappointing dish on the table at Thanksgiving, but that said it was disappointing when compared to a spread of dishes that everyone raved about, this had to be my most successful Thanksgiving yet as there wasn't a single dish that anyone thought wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
My son loves yams. BUT I can't believe you only need 4 cups and it serves 12? I always have this fear of not making anough when trying a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Yummy!!! I wanted to do something different with sweet potatoes this year for Thanksgiving, so I tried this recipe. Everyone loved it! Easy to make too. The only change I made was to double the recipe but I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar in the sweet potato mixture. Next time I will try with evaporated milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
We enjoyed this dish...made it the day before Thanksgiving, took it out of the fridge to bring to room temp before putting into the oven. What I won't do next time is double the topping for a single batch as some comments had suggested...way too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I love this recipe and it is now a staple for our family's Thanksgiving spread. I make one alteration to this recipe. I pull out the casserole after about 10 minutes and add about 3/4 a bag of Mini-marshmallows over the top of the sugar and pecan mixture then bake the whole thing for another 30 minutes. I'm still playing with the cooking timing because the toasted marshmallows are really good if they do not over-cook. I feel the extra time is needed because the casserole doesn't quite seem done to me after only 30 minutes. So by cooking for 10 minutes first, then adding in the minis, just about the time they start to brown the casserole is just about done. My family also moves this to the dessert menu as opposed to a yam side dish - and we're okay with that! I've also made with regular marshmallows. I think it's just easier to manage the cooking time with the minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was a huge hit at my Thanksgiving dinner! Even the picky little ones loved it! Other than baking my sweet potatoes instead of boiling them, I made as is and did not change a thing. Did use dark brown sugar since the recipe didn't specify light or dark. This will most definitely become a holiday staple in our house! Thanks Tina B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort White, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family RAVED about this recipe! Normally, there are sweet potatoes left over, but not this time! It was such a crowd pleaser that two relatives asked to take home what little was left! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was the best sweet potato casserole I've ever had. Such a great recipe alternative if you don't like the marshmallow topping. The only change I might make is to double the pecan topping. I felt like I didnt have enough for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrawfordMomof2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving. It was the only dish that was completely devoured. So no leftovers =/ it was super easy to make and a favorite at our dinner table. I will definitely be using this again. I did add more sweet potatoes and more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States