Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
nice and fresh taste. The crumble was very sweet - could only eat a little at a time. I made mine with fresh yams that I had roasted the day before. Topped half of mine with mini marshmellows because that's how we do it in the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sansgmo
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Oh my lord this was absolutely fantastic, I added some cinnamon to the topping. Even people who didn't like sweet potato loved it!!! New tradition for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly, I just doubled the topping. Everyone loved this and I barely had any leftovers! Will definitely be making this at every thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
The hubs begged me to make this after he tried it at his company's Thanksgiving dinner. I followed the recipe exactly except I used brown sugar all the way instead of white sugar, and I added marshmallows on top before adding the brown sugar & pecan mixture. Hubs said it was even better than the one he had at the office. I will make this for him every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I followed the suggestions from Melissa's reviews and cut the sugar, doubled the vanilla and topping mixture and added cinnamon, clove and nutmeg. I could eat this as my dessert - no need for pumpkin or pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We tried this for Thanksgiving, and it received raves. I baked the potatoes and scooped them out, which made for no cleanup. Whipped it all up in the food processor- no stringiness or glue-like texture at all, and SO easy. Only other change is I added golden raisins in the potatoes; like my grandmother-in-law's sweet potato souffle. Silky and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
With the exception of baking my potatoes rather than boiling them and whipping them in my mixer I followed the recipe to the letter. This is one outstanding casserole! I also made another casserole from a different recipe because one of my guests didn't like pecans. That recipe I did not care for except the topping. So for now on I'll use this recipe, but the other topping with pecans or a pecan walnut mixture. Here is the topping recipe: Pour ½ cup flour into a small mixing bowl. Cut in ¼ cup soften butter until the mixture is coarse and add 1 cup crushed walnuts (or pecans). Pour 4 TBSP maple syrup in a small saucepan on low heat, once heated add 1 cup brown sugar and melt into the syrup. Next add 1 TBSP butter to the maple syrup/brown sugar mixture Pour the syrup mixture into the bowl with flour. Combine together just enough with your fingers, don't over mix! Spread the mixture over your sweet potato dish. Lastly take ½ cup of crushed walnuts (or pecans) and sprinkle evenly on top. Bake for 30- 35 minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Superb! Made this recipe exactly as written for Thanksgiving and it was perfect! Everyone raved about the sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cl_suess
Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
When I saw this recipe it made me nostalgic so I prepared this for Thanksgiving instead of the usual candied sweet potatoes. Very nice, balanced dish that I didn't feel was too sweet. I did holiday-spice it up with cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. I baked it a bit longer - about 45 minutes - and then turned the broiler on low for just a couple of minutes, gently caramelizing the pecans. Wow, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffcancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Not a big sweet sweet potato fan but could not get enough of this. It was so light and fluffy and was absolutely fabulous. Will be making this again this weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States