Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am actually making it again next week. the only issue I had with it was that the pecan topping didn't "melt" per say. it stayed very brown sugary. I think this time I will add more butter possibly? any suggestions? I also used one sweet potato and one yam. it was a mild sweetness I was afraid of it being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I adjusted this recipe for double servings for my Thanksgiving party and everyone LOVED it! Got raving reviews and I would highly recommend it. I used all brown sugar inplace of the white it calls for and that made it not too sweet. The double servings called for extra 30 minutes of total prep/cook time but it was well worth it. FYI 1 large sweet potato in the store is about 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
My brother-in-law said these were to sweet but NOONE else agreed with him! They were the first thing to disappear from Thanksgiving Leftovers. I combined the ingredients the night before to make it easier in the rush of getting the meal on the table. My only complaint is I don't think it really served 12 - I would make a lot more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made this at my Thanksgiving table this year. Very good and added per others' suggestion an eyeball amount of nutmeg, cinnamon and ground cloves. Some people at my table did find the topping of the casserole too sweet. Will eliminate next time the topping and maybe just add some small marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I used 5 large sweet potatoes but did not increase the amount of streusel. As advised by others, I used evap. milk instead of reg. milk, halved the white sugar, doubled the vanilla, and added 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the sweet potatoes. I then added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the streusel mixture. I prepared this hours before serving and then baked just before eating. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was a big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner. Easy to make. I had made two pans of this and I had none left! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was amazing. Everyone wanted the recipe. I'm not big on sweet stuff in general, but this dish was certainly the exception to the rule. I used a deep dish and lined the interior rim with mini marshmellows. Wonderful addition and a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Yes, it was good and everyone loved this at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Very good! Was a bit dry but think I added too many sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by day_rog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Archbald, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States