Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This dish was a huge hit with both adults and kids at my family's Christmas dinner. I used 3 whole sweet potatoes, wrapped in foil, and roasted for 1.5 hours in the oven. I substituted the white sugar with 2 tbsp maple syrup, but otherwise followed the original recipe. It was so warm and fluffy...just all around everyone's favorite dish. The sweet potatoes are sweet enough as is so next time I will eliminate the white sugar or maple syrup all together. Definitely making this for all of our Christmas dinners from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywaiwai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Ive used this for years my boys who generally aren't fans of sweet potatoes love it and its a must for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe. I baked the potatoes, used 1/4 cup of sugar, cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla like many others did. The biggest change I made was I didn't use pecans, I used oats instead like a cobbler, it was delicious! So if you have a nut allergy use this. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This has become a new family favorite. I add nutmeg and cinnamon for flavor. This year I topped with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjstrouble1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I always make these recipes as they come, but I bought yams instead of sweet potatoes and I didn't have time to rush out to buy them so I used the yams. This will now be a holiday dish from now on-my family LOVED it. It is so yummy, just thinking about it makes me crave more. Serve it warm, it tastes even better warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Super easy and very tasty. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Casserole is in the oven as I type. We used 6 sweet potatoes, baked in the oven. I use to buy the canned but wanted to do it up right for family coming. ***Here's a tip if you really have the time to pull it off. Anyone that eats sp's knows they can be stringy. To eliminate this & have smooth & creamy mixture we pressed all the cooled sp's thru a small mesh strainer. This step holds back the stringy stuff and makes for creamy, dreamy sp's every time! Yes, labor intensive, but hubs did this for me yesterday so all we have to do is assemble today! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Thorne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this and everyone loved it. the only thing I did different was added small marshmallows to the top. Definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was great, also easy but did what others stated and baked the sweet potatoes for an hour at 375 and left in oven for another 30 minutes after we shut it off. They scooped out easy and filled a 4 cup measuring glass with the mashed sweet potatoes. Cut sugar to 1/4 cup and used raw sugar instead of white. Also added the 1/4 TSP of ground nutmeg, ground cloves and the teaspoon of ground cinnamon as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made many versions and tasted many versions. This one is absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreamz3311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States