Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this and im not that good at making stuff but this was for a work dinner and omg it was such a hit..... the maitence guys came back for seconds lol................ added simply orange juice and cinn.............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love this recipe but this year had to adjust it for a relative that had surgery and is limited on sugar and fats. Did a trial run for Thanksgiving last week and I substituted 1/3 fat cream cheese for the butter (which made them even more fluffy and wonderful) and Truvia for the sugar. (see the package Of Truvia for the sugar substitute measurements) It tasted exactly the same but with far less calories and a bit more fluffy from the cream cheese. I got more compliments this year and I only told the concerned party so they could eat their favorite dish! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These were PERFECT! We baked them first and then followed the recipe. We loved the buttery sweet potato taste on the inside with the sweet crunchy topping to sweeten it to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ariton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Great recipe! Make it every holiday. I cut the white sugar in half, much too sweet for me. And added extra pecans. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I make this every year for Thanksgiving...it's a huge hit!!! I also bake my potatoes for 1.25 hr at 375* and squeeze the insides right out. The only other thing I changed is evaporated milk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Don't waste your time cubing the potatoes for boiling. These things are hard and difficult to cut sometimes. Boil them whole. It takes longer, but once they are cooled a little the jackets (skins) just slide right off. And - this is a great recipe. My family has loved it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Mash a can of PEARS with it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My mother and family beg me to make this every year for Thanksgiving. My fiancé even hates sweet potatoes, but loves this casserole. It's a hit. I follow the recipe as it's intended EXCEPT that I do bake my sweet potatoes rather than boil them. They come out so much better. Also, you do not want canned sweet potatoes, it won't be the same, so plan for the extra time and step and bake them. You won't regret it. The crust is a little skimpy for the amount of potato to cover, but it works. I've never had complaints. Let go of the marshmallow tradition and start a new one this year! Your family will LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
SCRUMPTIOUS!! My co-workers LOVED this and people reminded me the next day to send them the recipe. The topping is what sets this apart. I made the potatoe mixture the day before and then put the topping on it and baked it the next day. Definitely bake the potatoes...I baked 3 large potatoes in foil for about on hour at 400 degrees until they get a little "mushy". I used just under 1/2 cup condensed milk since I didn't want it to be soupy as others noted. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and will likely cut the sugar just a little bit in the potato mixture next time. I doubled the topping as others noted but then didn't put it all on as I thought it might be too much. However, I will add a a tiny bit more pecans next time since I think the texture and flavor of the pecans are the magic in this recipe. Thanks Tina B for a wonderful holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This recipe is always a HUGE hit... even when people think they hate sweet potatoes, they love this! It's such a better option than yams smothered in marshmallows. I love this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States