Yummy Pikelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Mine didn't look like the picture, which looks kinda like a filled doughnut, but they were oh so good. Mine looked more like silver dollar pancakes. I was really surprised at how much flavor these had with all the more ingredients. I made two batches in the time it would have taken to make one batch of my hubby's pancakes. I think they are lighter than pancakes so in that I differ from other reviewers. This is a definite keeper. Quick and easy homestyle breakfast that can be whipped up in a snap! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
very nice. im from australia and i know what pikelets should taste like and this is it. it was easy to make, and the results were fantastic! i made mine very thick and it still came out fantastic and fluffy. i served it with jan and good butter and everyone was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These were great! I didn't have self-rising flour so used 1 c. flour, 1/2 tsp. salt and 1 1/2 tsp. double acting baking powder. My children enjoyed these with applesauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Different, but good. Having never even heard of a "pikelet" I can only compare them to pancakes. These are not the light & fluffy pancakes Americans are used to, but they are good none the less. I also had to substitute A.P. flour & I took the others advice & added 1/2 t. vanilla. I served mine with blueberry sauce. I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Just to let everyone know as the original submitter of this recipe, pikelets are not meant to be eaten as a breakfast food like pancakes. They are meant to be eaten at morning tea, tea parties, birthday parties, lunch and just as a treat or snack. It is fine if you like to use the recipe for a pancake, but originally you had them for brunch with cups of tea or coffee. Kids love them at birthday parties. Spread the pikelets with jam and put on top a big dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I love this recipe and have used it several times. I do have to say that it only makes about six 3 inch pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah c.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My 3year old helped make these and they turned out terrific. Definately do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Thank you AussieMum. I am an Aussie married to a Canadian and living in Canada. I have been looking for a pikelet recipe for ages to replace the one I lost when I moved here. My husband had never heard of pikelets. Now he has tasted them he loves them. again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Simple and quick. Diffently make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
'Twas tastey ^ ^ Thankies! Will be making again! I added vanilla to the mix as some of the others had suggested and it works XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States