Yummy Pikelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Mine didn't look like the picture, which looks kinda like a filled doughnut, but they were oh so good. Mine looked more like silver dollar pancakes. I was really surprised at how much flavor these had with all the more ingredients. I made two batches in the time it would have taken to make one batch of my hubby's pancakes. I think they are lighter than pancakes so in that I differ from other reviewers. This is a definite keeper. Quick and easy homestyle breakfast that can be whipped up in a snap! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
very nice. im from australia and i know what pikelets should taste like and this is it. it was easy to make, and the results were fantastic! i made mine very thick and it still came out fantastic and fluffy. i served it with jan and good butter and everyone was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Just to let everyone know as the original submitter of this recipe, pikelets are not meant to be eaten as a breakfast food like pancakes. They are meant to be eaten at morning tea, tea parties, birthday parties, lunch and just as a treat or snack. It is fine if you like to use the recipe for a pancake, but originally you had them for brunch with cups of tea or coffee. Kids love them at birthday parties. Spread the pikelets with jam and put on top a big dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These were great! I didn't have self-rising flour so used 1 c. flour, 1/2 tsp. salt and 1 1/2 tsp. double acting baking powder. My children enjoyed these with applesauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I love this recipe and have used it several times. I do have to say that it only makes about six 3 inch pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah c.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My 3year old helped make these and they turned out terrific. Definately do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Different, but good. Having never even heard of a "pikelet" I can only compare them to pancakes. These are not the light & fluffy pancakes Americans are used to, but they are good none the less. I also had to substitute A.P. flour & I took the others advice & added 1/2 t. vanilla. I served mine with blueberry sauce. I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Thank you AussieMum. I am an Aussie married to a Canadian and living in Canada. I have been looking for a pikelet recipe for ages to replace the one I lost when I moved here. My husband had never heard of pikelets. Now he has tasted them he loves them. again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Simple and quick. Diffently make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
'Twas tastey ^ ^ Thankies! Will be making again! I added vanilla to the mix as some of the others had suggested and it works XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States