Yummy Pikelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Just to let everyone know as the original submitter of this recipe, pikelets are not meant to be eaten as a breakfast food like pancakes. They are meant to be eaten at morning tea, tea parties, birthday parties, lunch and just as a treat or snack. It is fine if you like to use the recipe for a pancake, but originally you had them for brunch with cups of tea or coffee. Kids love them at birthday parties. Spread the pikelets with jam and put on top a big dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS TEMPEST
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
These are the best pikelets I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
It's a pretty good basic recipe. I use a little more milk than suggested to cut down on the flour flavour. I also add a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Pretty much a basic pancake recipe as far as I can tell, the only difference being using self-rising flour which is a nice timesaver. My kids are huge pancake hounds, I doubled this for my family (five) and they still wanted more so consider that when making this. Next time I'd triple it or even quadruple it and have some possible leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
this was the best pikelets ever! they should be called ticklets because its so good that when i eat it it tickles me inside :D! if you try it with chocolate chips or hazelnuts... DONT EVEN GET ME STARTED! it was the BEST!!! I LOVED IT EVEN MORE! bi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
very nice. im from australia and i know what pikelets should taste like and this is it. it was easy to make, and the results were fantastic! i made mine very thick and it still came out fantastic and fluffy. i served it with jan and good butter and everyone was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Mine didn't look like the picture, which looks kinda like a filled doughnut, but they were oh so good. Mine looked more like silver dollar pancakes. I was really surprised at how much flavor these had with all the more ingredients. I made two batches in the time it would have taken to make one batch of my hubby's pancakes. I think they are lighter than pancakes so in that I differ from other reviewers. This is a definite keeper. Quick and easy homestyle breakfast that can be whipped up in a snap! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I love this recipe and have used it several times. I do have to say that it only makes about six 3 inch pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah c.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I spent my HS years in New Zealand and had been craving some yummy pikelets. These were absolutely delish! I prefer a slightly thinner pikelet so I used roughly 3/4 c. milk and the were absolutely perfect. Just like I had rememembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I've never had pikelets before, so I have no idea how to compare, but this is a nice, easy recipe for basic pancakes. A little heavy. Next time I will add more milk. Also kind of plain. I think vanilla would be good, though it tastes pretty yummy with strawberry jam! Definitely will use again, though, for how quick a simple it is. And lower in calories than most pancake recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States