Yummy Pikelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
MMMMM!! I made these for breakfast this morning and they were mighty good! The kids really liked them. The first batch I made was good... but kinda bland. So for the next batch I add a little bit of vanilla extract, a couple sprinkles of cinnamon, and a TINY bit of nutmeg. MUCH better. I served these with blueberry jelly. I'll be making this soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
These were so good!!! My brother evan cooked an egg ang had it on one of theese with cheese!!! Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipe nerd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great recipe, very easy. I use buttermilk in my pikelets instead of just plain milk, and it gives a fluffy mixture which makes for a lighter pikelet. Funny how here in NZ and in Aussie they call them pikelets - in the English Midlands that is the name for crumpets. The English name for this recipe would be "Scotch Pancakes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Very good my husband and i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JStoddard
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Being an Aussie, I have grown up loving these my whole life and when I get really greedy, I sandwich them together with butter and strawberry jam so I can eat two at once! This batch made about 13 pikelets. Electric frypans are best for these with even heat though I did mine on the stovetop and they turned out ok. Trick is to watch the pan getting too hot. Next time I will add a little more sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were ok but not fantastic. I cut the sugar in half but maybe I shouldn't have. They tasted very bland. I did take another reviewers suggestion and added some vanilla but they were still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Very good. Quick to whip up. Uses things usually on hand. My son devoured these and could have eaten the entire batch, if I hadn't had some too. This only made enough for 2 of us, so if you are feeding more or if you are feeding a teenager like I am, you may have to double this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
'Twas tastey ^ ^ Thankies! Will be making again! I added vanilla to the mix as some of the others had suggested and it works XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Simple and quick. Diffently make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States