Yummy Pikelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These are good and really easy! My one complaint is that mine turned out a bit tough, not really fluffy. They weren't really rubbery, just tougher than I thought they'd be. That could be my fault because I did have to substitute olive oil spread for butter and cane sugar for caster sugar. Over all, the taste is really nice, so I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
YUMMY! I forgot to add the butter for the first one, then I added it for the rest, the rest seemed fluffier. So much better than pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was really good. They were very soft too. They almost tasted like pancakes. My son ate 2 of them. I will probably use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good with bits of diced crystallized ginger and fresh grated nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was a great basic recipe. I doubled the yield, and added vanilla, lemon, and topped them with cinnamon/sugar when they were done. Excellent! Even added a dollop of whipped cream. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made these for my daughter and she is a VERY picky eater! She took the first bite and said "these are the best pancakes I have ever tasted!" I also added a dash of vanilla to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
fantastic pikelets, truly thick and fluffy and whipped up in 2 minutes. my hubby really thought they were great as he finds most pikelet recipes too sweet for his liking. these were bang on tho - reccommend to all :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
So I had to improvise the recipe because I did not have "castor or superfine sugar" nor milk. I substituted it with powder sugar and evaporated milk. I don't know what Pikelets are suppose to taste like,but what I made were tasty and fluffy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
These were awesome. I used whole wheat flour and added a teaspoon of baking powder to make it self- rising flour. These turned perfect: they weren't too heavy and they had an okay flavor. Next time I'll add some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These were great. I did a search for pancakes and these were on the list. They easily cook all the way through. I topped mine with butter and syrup but I imagine they are awesome with whipped cream and fresh fruit! Will be making again when I have those on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States