Yummy Pesto Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
These were good mashed potatoes; I did have to up the amount of milk some, and then ended up putting in some sour cream too. Served them with Beef, Burgundy Style, Buttery Cooked Carrots, & Zesty Marinated Asparagus, all from this website and it was a very nice combination. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was another great way to use up our large basil plants. I used olive oil instead of butter and doubled the pesto. I used the 'Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto'recipe from this website. I found they needed a little extra salt (though this may have been due to not using butter). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Pretty yummy! I like the flavor of pesto so I used more of it (3 tablespoons for 2 yukon gold potatoes), and a couple of handfuls of pecorino romano cheese, and a couple of pinches of salt and pepper. Great way to use up extra pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
What a great idea and new twist on mashed potatoes! This was unusual but delicious, flavorful and pretty - I'm so glad to have found another use for pesto. I didn't measure, just added the pesto to taste along with extra butter. This was a nice accompaniment to "Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
These potatoes were really good. I used red potatoes and just left the skin on. I followed LadyJayPee's advice about using a bit of sour cream. I also used lots more pesto- probably about 1/2 cup. We had this with our St. Patrick's Day meal. My baby could not get enough of these! Everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Wonderful! I used the Knor Creamy Pesto sauce packet. It is high sodium, so won't make often but it's a fun change from the standard. (Using homemade pesto would be much lower sodium, but too expensive for our budget!). Served with broiled tilapia & poured the remaining pesto over that. What a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
My daughter made this as part of our Mother's Day meal. The only thing she did differently was to add in some black pepper. Very tasty and all the better because I didn't cook them. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Delicious twist on mashed potatoes! I added a little parmesan cheese to the mix, and served it with grilled chicken and veggies for dinner. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was pretty good. I ate them plain, but wondering if others had a gravy they served with theirs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLu
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I was really happy with this. I ended up serving a quick Chicken a la King over them and the pesto added a nice bit of flair to the dish overall. I like my potatoes a little mushier though so had to be a bit more liberal with the milk. It was a quick and easy recipe that I'll be saving though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Algus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States