Yummy Pecan Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
These were excellent and have gotten rave reviews from everyone who has tried them. I did make a few changes though. The way the recipe is, they come out to be nuts clumps in the midst of a pile of praline "cookie." I prefer the traditionaly southern pralines where it is a nut that is coated in a dry praline coating so I upped the quantity of pecans to 2 cups. I also added 1/4 c. real rum and about a tablespoon of dried ground ginger to the cinnamon/vanilla mixture. For the higher quantity of pecans, you have to move quickly as the praline mixture will cool quickly and begin to solidify around each nut very quickly. Just keep stirring which will break apart huge clusters, then spread on a baking sheet until cool. Then I pour them into a collander and toss all the loose sugar off. This also rounds the edges of the praline coating out on the nuts. Even better is that you can save the sugar that falls out of the collander and use as brown sugar in cookies! So delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Just made these using heavy cream instead of EM, due to what I had on hand fantastic. Second batch already on the stove!! **UPDATE** Made a double batch to ship out and found that using a cookie scoop to individually drop each one instead of spreading apart and breaking them made them much prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keyport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
This is a great recipe. It has been around for years and is a favorite in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Melt-in-your mouth yummy! And so easy to make. I will add more pecans next time. I will also spread the mixture faster because it firms very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe was great!! I have been making pralines for 20 yrs and have always sit and stir and stir so it will get thick. It was so easy this time to use the mixer. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These tasted exactly how i remember them as a little kid! They are excelent. I added 2 cups of pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
My kids are LOVIN' them. I use 1 1/2 cup white to 1/2 cup brown sugar and right before I stir, just a pinch of salt keeps it from being too sweet! We also put two large 'dollops' of peanut butter and make them peanut butter pralines! Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Caston-Goss

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Louise, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Yummy is an understatement! These remind me of the ones my mama use to make! I followed the advice of several reiviewers and used 2 cups of pecans. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moselle, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Wow, these were easier than I thought. I only made half the recipe to test it. I didn't have a candy thermometer, nor did I do the cold water test. I just kind of guessed and it came out perfect. I poured the batch into half a foil lined cake pan to about 1/4 inch thick. Let it cool, then broke it into pieces. Will definitely be making this again, and will be making the full amount next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was very good and easy. The only change I made was I added 2 cups of whole pecans. Next time I will add 1/2 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tioga, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States