Yummy Pecan Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
These pralines are easy and quick, and the texture is good. Unfortunately, the evaporated milk scent was so strong that it spoiled the flavor. Substituting light cream (10% butterfat) would render theses candies perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
This is a great recipe. It has been around for years and is a favorite in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This recipe is impossible to double---beating at the end is too difficult. The ratio of praline to nuts is high. Next time I would increase the nuts or cut down on the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This recipe was quick and easy. I added more pecans and I also used a tablespoon to drop the mixture on a sheet of parchment paper, 1-inch apart instead of spreading on a buttered baking sheet. My family and I enjoyed it. You should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Because I was so used to making peanut butter candy, it was really hard to tell when this candy was ready. i was familiar with the whole water dropping thing, but it didn't work out so well. so, i used good judgment and took it out when i thought it was ready. for this recipe, i think i would have cut back on the pecans. it seems as though the pecans almost over took the candy. other than that, the taste was awesome, and i would definitely make it again with fewer pecans. maybe a 1/4 cup less. anyways, thanks for this recipe. :-)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamyioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
These were excellent and have gotten rave reviews from everyone who has tried them. I did make a few changes though. The way the recipe is, they come out to be nuts clumps in the midst of a pile of praline "cookie." I prefer the traditionaly southern pralines where it is a nut that is coated in a dry praline coating so I upped the quantity of pecans to 2 cups. I also added 1/4 c. real rum and about a tablespoon of dried ground ginger to the cinnamon/vanilla mixture. For the higher quantity of pecans, you have to move quickly as the praline mixture will cool quickly and begin to solidify around each nut very quickly. Just keep stirring which will break apart huge clusters, then spread on a baking sheet until cool. Then I pour them into a collander and toss all the loose sugar off. This also rounds the edges of the praline coating out on the nuts. Even better is that you can save the sugar that falls out of the collander and use as brown sugar in cookies! So delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Melt-in-your mouth yummy! And so easy to make. I will add more pecans next time. I will also spread the mixture faster because it firms very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe was great!! I have been making pralines for 20 yrs and have always sit and stir and stir so it will get thick. It was so easy this time to use the mixer. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Great, although I should have used halved pecans instead of pieces. I served these on a small dish on the desert bar at my holiday dinner and they were scooped up quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traycee215

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These tasted exactly how i remember them as a little kid! They are excelent. I added 2 cups of pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States